Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Help please? Wiimote SLOW to respond with new TV.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Celeste, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    My Wii and remotes were working fabulously up until I got a new TV yesterday.
    I switched from a ghetto 20" CRT TV to a 32" LG HDTV and my Wiimote is responding slowly to the point where I can't even play Guitar Hero because everything is being pressed too late. Has anyone had this problem and/or know anything to try to fix it? I'd appreciate it, thanks. I got this TV pretty much specifically for gaming and it won't work D: D: D:

    - I did switch TV settings from standard to widescreen
    - I don't have the HDTV component cables hooked up to my cable box yet so I'm operating in regular standard definition thingy.

    Please helpppp?
     
  2. gnahc79

    gnahc79 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    Have you already tried the HDTV calibration option in the GHIII menu option?
     
  3. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    Hi, thanks for responding.
    I just used GH3 to illustrate the extent of the problem. It's actually occuring with every game, even virtual console ones. So I don't know what's up :\
     
  4. kronau

    kronau Nice And Simple

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    http://heartbreakerclothing.net/
    Wii Friend Code: 2429-4615-8570-1814
    2429-4615-8570-1814
    on hdtv's the pixel respond in about 6 mili secends slower then a non flat screen and that does make a huge diffrence evin if it doesint sound like it
     
  5. Foxy

    Foxy Super Ninjarator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,689
    Likes Received:
    105
    Wii Friend Code: 3881-9484-9041-5848
    3881-9484-9041-5848
    Re synced and calibrated wiimotes?

    Your best option is to new sync wiimotes and fish through wii options for anything that could be making this happen. I'll try going on a 'net mission to find something for you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. gnahc79

    gnahc79 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    What kind of LG display and model# (plasma, LCD, etc)? It seems like it's the display, you can search the definitive A/V board, http://www.avsforum.com for an answer. Perhaps there's some adjustments you can make on the display.

    some info:
    http://hdtvlag.googlepages.com/details
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=558125

    - Use the GHIII calibration to see approx how much lag there is for your display.

    The component cables and running at 480p may resolve your lag issue. Btw, my Panasonic plasma (42" 9uk) works fine for me.
     
    #6 gnahc79, Dec 29, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  7. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    Thanks everyone who has responded =)
    I reconnected the Wii remote hoping that'd help but it didn't.
    I also did the calibrate thing on GH3 just now, and I'm not sure what to do after it tells me the miliseconds. Can I fix it? Or is it just informing me how laggy it is. I got 105 miliseconds. That sounds...bad.
     
  8. gnahc79

    gnahc79 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    For GHIII the calibration is supposed to fix the lag, but I've never tried it (just did it now and get 0ms lag). 105ms is really bad, so bad you may want to do the calibration again to double check :).
    Btw what's the display type and model#? You can probably just enter the model# in the avsforum search to see if anyone else is running into the same problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Dinner

    Dinner Reading Rainbow

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Scarborough, Ontario
    Wii Friend Code: 2878-9257-8140-1234
    2878-9257-8140-1234
    My bet is that its the AV Cables. My friend says that they arent "strong" enough to reproduce an instant button to action rate on HDTVs. Switch those with some components, switch to 480p and it should be fine.
     
    #9 Dinner, Dec 29, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  10. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    Brilliant, thank you.
    Next question would be...how do I use the Wii with component cables? I have the cables and everything already...just...yeah.
    Sorry for being such a n00b about hooking up things.
     
  11. Chute

    Chute very low idiot tolerance

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    oxford
    the RGB plugs go into the back of the TV somewhere (it will be obvious where) the red and white audio leads need to be plugged into an amp or similar. chances are you'll need to buy extensions (no, not for your hair)
     
  12. Dinner

    Dinner Reading Rainbow

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Scarborough, Ontario
    Wii Friend Code: 2878-9257-8140-1234
    2878-9257-8140-1234
    There should be an output on the back of the TV which looks like the usual Red White and Yellow stuff except now its Red Blue and Green with an additional Red and Yellow next to it. Connect the component cable colours to their corresponding colour
     
  13. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    Okay I got that much, but the other end of the red blue and green cables go where? Like how do I connect them to the Wii?
     
  14. [DT]

    [DT] Gearhead Surf Coder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    I've never heard of anything like this - latency through a video output port because of the cables? Some kind of phantom video resistance?

    If I were debugging the problem, I'd work from the source of the problem (the remotes) backwards. Low signal power on a BT device can cause latency - this would result from: 1) low power (have you swapped in some fresh batteries? Tried regular vs. rechargables if you have the latter) 2) poor point-to-point signal (probably not an issue since you're LOS/in the same room).

    I mean it can't hurt to swap in component cables since they're better: Wii end to the Wii just like the composite cable which it replaces (which may have been your question). Your component will supply both the video (YPbPr) and the audio (2-channel to the white and red).

    Then on the TV side you need to identify a component input (should be labeled or documented in your manual). It will have a Red, Green and Blue RCA style jacks (likely marked Y Pb Pr that look just like the Yellow since RCA jack your composite hookup used). Just match the colors, tune the set to the proper input (again, to match the label of the input). Then as the previous poster indicated, set the Wii to 480p from 480i (which should be an option once it detects the component cable).
     
    #14 [DT], Dec 30, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  15. Dinner

    Dinner Reading Rainbow

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Scarborough, Ontario
    Wii Friend Code: 2878-9257-8140-1234
    2878-9257-8140-1234
    They go in the same spot where you use to plug the AV Cables into.
     
  16. gnahc79

    gnahc79 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    [DT], I think the RCA->component fix is attributed to the 480i->480p change, not the actual cables themselves. Something with scaling on the display....not exactly sure.
     
  17. kronau

    kronau Nice And Simple

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    http://heartbreakerclothing.net/
    Wii Friend Code: 2429-4615-8570-1814
    2429-4615-8570-1814
    this is the rason i got a modurn glass screen tv it has 0.0002 milisecned respond
     
  18. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    .0002 ms?

    That's like...20 us... I highly doubt that. You have no idea what the hell you're on about.
     
  19. gnahc79

    gnahc79 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    For a CRT that would make sense since the response time for CRTs is near 0.
     
  20. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Modurn glass screen? -_-;
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
my wii remote is slow
,
why does my remote to the wii slow to resopond
,
wii controller slow response
,
wii controllers slow to respond
,

wii remote delayed response

,

wii remote slow response

,
wii remote sluggish
,
wii slow on flatscreen
,
wii slow response
,
wiimote pc sluggish response