Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Hey guys I need your help.

Discussion in 'Xbox Consoles' started by Mikeo22, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok well first off i would like to say that I own both a wii and a 360, and that the wii is pretty sweet. Ok back on topic for xbox 360 i have to bring it downstairs, where my pc is JUST to play live. And I know about the wireless adaptor but i really just dont see myself paying 100 dollars just to be able to play one floor above, I thought about a really long ethernet cable but that just wouldn't work good in my house because the cord would just look odd running down my stairs lol. So the question I am asking you is, is their anyway that I could setup like a router that doesnt even need to plug into a computer, that I can just plug into my wall. So i could have an ethernet port in my room.

    -mike
     
  2. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anybody have an answer?
     
  3. Sovieto

    Sovieto Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,585
    Likes Received:
    91
    just use a long ethernet cord, run it along the wall and place electrical tape over it so it doesnt stray away.

    dont double post/bump like this, if no one replies after a day after then you are able to bump the thread, not 15 minutes.
     
  4. Celestial

    Celestial WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    London, England
    Wii Friend Code: 3049-9371-2306-9680
    3049-9371-2306-9680
    If you have a laptop you can share the internet connection from it to the 360... that's what I do. If not then just get a long ethernet cable.
     
  5. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    hold on celestial wut do you mean by the laptop idea,
     
  6. Celestial

    Celestial WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    London, England
    Wii Friend Code: 3049-9371-2306-9680
    3049-9371-2306-9680
    Well I unno, my brother did it for me. But we have a wireless router upstairs, and the 360 is downstairs.

    So my laptop is connected to the router by the wireless thing. Then I can use an ethernet cable from my laptop to my 360.

    I think what my brother did was enabled connection sharing on "Wireless Network Connection" and then it worked on my 360. Something like that :)

    I think the laptop might need to be Windows XP though, not sure. Because we tried it on my brothers laptop, but he has Vista and it didn't work.
     
  7. Stallyon

    Stallyon Don of NYC Respect Lvl 50

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Norion
    Wii Friend Code: 2207-7954-7144-9623
    2207-7954-7144-9623
    What I did at my old house was drill a hole through my upstairs floor/downstairs ceiling which was large enough to run a few cables through. The hole was covered upstairs by the carpet and the cables were run along the wall underneath the carpet so upstairs wasnt an issue. Downstairs the cables ran down the wall and was covered by cable boxes. can get them from 1 inch wide to 2, 3, 6 inches wide and they arent very deep.

    I had my cable tv, stereo speakers, and ethernet cables running alongside each other. I could watch cable tv in over 3 rooms of the house from only 1 receiver, listen to music all over the house and connect a pc in any bedroom. Sweet
     
  8. T3kNi9e

    T3kNi9e Conquistador

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Thats how i have mine. Except mine isnt as hard to do because I have no upstairs. I drill a hole on the ceiling on the edge of the wall and run the cable to the other side of the house up the attic and drill another hole to the router.
     
  9. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    im likeing the laptop idea but the thing is i personally dont have a laptop, my dad and sis do and its not like i can have it in my room the whole time or whenever i want to play 360 and its not like i could just run an ethernet to either of there rooms because the whole point of really having a laptop is so you can have internet access anywhere in the house, its not like they are always on it just in their room... so idk maybe just do the wireless adaptor :[ i really wish 360 had built in wi-fi.
     
  10. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh come on ppl wut should i do?????? maybe i should just get a vga adaptor and play 360 on my pc...
     
  11. Gikoku Harakami

    Gikoku Harakami ミュージック

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    どこかに日本でか。
    Wii Friend Code: 1234-1234-1234-1234
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    The only suggestion I can give, is to get a wireless router, with a wireless adapter. Since you don't seem up to the whole Ethernet cable idea (personally I wouldn't like it either, just another long wire in the house). But the VGA adapter method works too.

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=628108

    ^ there's a great wireless router there, all you would need then is just a wireless adapter (i recommend one by the same brand).
     
    #11 Gikoku Harakami, Jan 14, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2008
    • Like Like x 2
  12. strommsarnac

    strommsarnac WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, Central Ohio
    Do you already have a WiFi router? If so, you can buy another one and set it up as a bridge/AP. Then you connect the 360 to one of the LAN ports on that router. Don't connect anything to it's WAN port. That second router will act as the go-between for your wired ethernet devices in your bedroom.

    Or you can get two "ethernet over power line" devices. Those use your house's electrical wiring as the network cable. Here's a link for Netgear's, but there's quite a few other manfs too.

    http://www.netgear.com/Products/PowerlineNetworking/PowerlineEthernetAdapters/HDX101.aspx
     

Share This Page