Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Hooking up the wii to your computer?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by Desi_Wii_G, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. Desi_Wii_G

    Desi_Wii_G Welcome to the Good Life

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8914-3870-7184-8437
    8914-3870-7184-8437
    Can someone explain to me on how to do this. All i want to do is be able to play the wii on my comp. I already have Wi-Fi and stuff just need to know how? I can the see the cable parts where u hook up the video and stuff. I was wondering if there is anything extra?...
     
  2. Secumfex

    Secumfex Ninja? I'm a Pirate! Yarr

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    15
    Wii Friend Code: 6205-5687-4726-5914
    6205-5687-4726-5914
    It is possible to do this, but you need the proper cables to do so.
    Your graphicscard has to have a TV-OUT slot. If it doesn't have one, you can't play your Wii on your PC Monitor.
     
  3. Desi_Wii_G

    Desi_Wii_G Welcome to the Good Life

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8914-3870-7184-8437
    8914-3870-7184-8437
    lol i have no clue wat ur talking about... lol im sorry i just bought the wii today and yea... maybe i should just give it a shot...
     
  4. balrogs.pa

    balrogs.pa Wiichats Idiot Identifier

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    I forgot how to look at a map.
    Wii Friend Code: 0588-9206-9468-1123
    0588-9206-9468-1123
    desi. if i was rich i wouldnt hook it up to my computer. I would hook it up to my house!!! so that it can change how dim the lights are n stuff. change the thermo stat watch tv on it. etc etc.
     
  5. Evolve82

    Evolve82 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dartford, Kent
    Wii Friend Code: 0680-1454-3102-7585
    0680-1454-3102-7585

    This is excatly right. You need to have a TV-OUT port on your graphics card.
     
  6. mym6

    mym6 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    ND USA
    What are you guys talking about? TV-OUT means is a way to hook the computer to a TV, it's not an input.

    You need a capture card for your PC and it has to be as close to "real time" as possible. This is generally not the case as there is usually some sort of lag, particularly with the new ones because they include software meant to act like a PVR. This means they are doing time shifting which will result in a severe lag between what the Wii is outputting and what you see. My recommendation is that you get a TV that acts as a monitor and TV. Many flat panel TV are able to do this.
     
  7. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Just get a component to VGA or composite to VGA adapter and hook it directly to your monitor without using your PC. If you do that you might want to get a KVM switch to so that you don't have to constantly unplug and replug them.
     
  8. cartman777

    cartman777 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think i got that TV-OUT on my laptop, it is yellow and there's a picture of a screen and an arrow pointing away next to it.
    now... what cable do i need? =D
     
  9. Secumfex

    Secumfex Ninja? I'm a Pirate! Yarr

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    15
    Wii Friend Code: 6205-5687-4726-5914
    6205-5687-4726-5914
    I've played with the Wii on my PC before, and I needed the TV-OUT slot on my graphicscard. I linked the Wii Cables with a component cable and put it into the TV-OUT. I downloaded a capture Program then and played on my PC Monitor
     
    #9 Secumfex, Aug 14, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2007
  10. Evolve82

    Evolve82 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dartford, Kent
    Wii Friend Code: 0680-1454-3102-7585
    0680-1454-3102-7585
    Yes it is the yellow socket! Sorry should have put this on my other post!

    The cable is like a phono cable, can get it from a PC or electronics shop.
     
  11. Haz

    Haz Nintendo Encyclopedia

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    England, UK
    lol at all the retarded comments here!

    To connect your Wii to your Laptop, you can use the following two methods.

    1) Buy an RF Modulator (link and buy a TV Card, connect the Wii to the RF Modulator and then plug the Modulator into the TV Card aerial socket, then finally plug the TV card into your Computer via USB.

    2) You will need a Scart/Phone to S-Video convertor (I suggest ebay), then connect your Wii via an S-Video cable to your computer, you will of course need S-Video INPUT on your computer.

    Note: MOST, graphic cards have TV-OUT, S-Video-OUT, these will NOT work, as they only allow output communication. You will need a Video Capture card if you do not have an input socket.

    Hope this helps

    Edit: The first method is how I connected my GameCube to my laptop in my first year of Uni - so I know it works!
     
  12. balrogs.pa

    balrogs.pa Wiichats Idiot Identifier

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    I forgot how to look at a map.
    Wii Friend Code: 0588-9206-9468-1123
    0588-9206-9468-1123
    computer not laptop
     
  13. PumaYaYa

    PumaYaYa WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 4962-6891-3145-7510
    4962-6891-3145-7510
    lets connect our wii to the TVOUT connector on the video card so that it can display on the monitor....

    ^ read that, and you tell me if it makes sense.... don't over think it.
     
  14. DazzeL

    DazzeL WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do you get a gain in picture quality like this?
     
  15. bob_digga

    bob_digga W3rd

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Wii Friend Code: 1450-8712-3893-8596
    1450-8712-3893-8596
    just buy an ati all in wonder card.

    problem solved.
     
  16. mushy_peas

    mushy_peas Wanna buy sum pegs, Dave?

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    the Moon
    Wii Friend Code: 2266-7584-2659-5107
    2266-7584-2659-5107
    just use ure tv, if you have one
     
  17. Haz

    Haz Nintendo Encyclopedia

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    England, UK
    cause that's a helpful response to his/her question!

    :sick:
     
  18. nonotz

    nonotz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have same issue w/ the TS too...
    my tv is 14inch while my lcd monitor is 17... :lol:
    isn't it better to use my lcd monitor?
     
  19. Desi_Wii_G

    Desi_Wii_G Welcome to the Good Life

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8914-3870-7184-8437
    8914-3870-7184-8437
    guys i have a tv a big ass tv lol but my router is sort of weak and my parents wont buy a new one lol so what better place than on the computer right next to te router. and what is TV OUT can some one explain more lol...
     
  20. cartman777

    cartman777 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    somewhat related: my VAIO Media has this 'watch TV' feature so i'm guessing it'll show my television for me, the only thing missing is a cable, plus I'm guessing my VAIO would have the apropriate port for the cable... xP confusing.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

hook up wii to computer

,
hook wii to computer
,

hook wii up to a computer

,
hooking up a wii simple terms
,

hooking up a wii to a computer

,

hooking up wii to computer

,
how do you hook up a wii to your computer
,

how to hook up a wii to a computer

,

how to hook up wii to computer

,
how to hook up your wii to your laptop