Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

I cannot get Wii to connect to wireless internet

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by herewego, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I am posting a new thread for fear of "hi jacking" someone elses. :ee5k:

    We took the Wii to Grandpa's house. He has wireless internet. The iPods connect fine, the laptops connect fine. We can find the access point on the Wii and try to connect, but the test fails and it does not allow us to connect. The Wii is less than 10 feet from the computer router/modem whatever.

    I have found conflicting information regarding the next steps. I have NO idea how to get into the wireless router (or modem ... or whatever?) to set up a MAC address of the Wii? I have NO idea what to do so I am starting anew and asking here. Can someone tell me what information I need to give so that they can tell me how to connect the Wii to the internet?

    We do not have wireless at our house so we have never connected the Wii to the internet before.

    Thanks.
     
    #1 herewego, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  2. Splash_King

    Splash_King The Scrubbiest of Hunters

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lostlorn Forest
    Wii Friend Code: 0129-0129-0129-0129
    0129-0129-0129-0129
    What is the brand of Grandpa's router and modem? Is the internet connection "encrypted" (when attempting to connect to it wirelessly with the Wii, it'l ask for a sort of password, namely a "WEP Key")?
     
  3. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The brand is Medialink is the router. Motorola is something from the internet provider too, is that the modem? um... feel dumb here.....
    It did ask for a password on the Wii and we used the same password we use to connect to the iPods (which work).
    thanks
     
  4. xplosive

    xplosive WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    #4 xplosive, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  5. TampaBondo

    TampaBondo Number 1 GE Wiimote User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumberland, RI
    Wii Friend Code: 8297-0574-6373-3839
    8297-0574-6373-3839
    I would suggest trying a prayer or some type of ritual sacrifice, but that has never been proven to work on Motorola devices...

    Have you tried resetting the Motorola unit? Sometimes this will resolve a conflict with ports on the unit.
     
  6. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    We are in the country and only found grandpa's connection. It did the test run and said it could not connect and gave us an error code of 51130 i think it said.
    We did try to set reset it (Motorola - that is the modem, right?), we tried power cycling, etc
     
    #6 herewego, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  7. xplosive

    xplosive WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Error Code: 51130
    [h=3]Specific Error Code Not Found - General Troubleshooting[/h]
    • Try adjusting the "Channel" your wireless router broadcasts on. We highly recommend setting your wireless router to either channel 1 or 11. This can potentially increase the download speed. For information on accessing your router's settings, click here to select the brand name and model number of your router (if available).
    • Check your router's broadcast settings to find out if it is set to "G", "B", or "Mixed." Mixed typically works best, but try all three to see if it improves the network connection to the Wii console.
    • Make sure that any other interfering devices, such as microwaves and cordless phones, are turned off. Wireless keyboards and mice may also cause interference.
    If you are still receiving this error code, please click here for assistance.

    Courtesy of:http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/wfc/en_na/ds/results.jsp?error_code=51130&system=Wii&locale=en_US&action2.x=15&action2.y=16


     
    #7 xplosive, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  8. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ok, so Motorola is the router? What is that Medialink thingy then?
    Motorola says SB5101N.
    It's not even on the list mentioned above :(

    how do we "get in" to the router to figure out what the settings are at? broadcasts setting?
     
  9. xplosive

    xplosive WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    [​IMG]Does it look like this?
     
    #9 xplosive, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  10. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ok, i'm getting so confused. I just looked at the Medialink thing again and it says wireless router.

    so what is this motorola?

    soo sorry.. thank you for your patience... grandpa wants to call the technical support at the internet company and I told him no, don't do that. they will charge you to come out here and who knows if they could even fix it!

    That is what the Motorola looks like (except the pc/activity green light on the bottom is blinking and then solid green from time to time --- right now)

    i dont know how to delete that double post. HA! sorry
     
  11. TampaBondo

    TampaBondo Number 1 GE Wiimote User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumberland, RI
    Wii Friend Code: 8297-0574-6373-3839
    8297-0574-6373-3839
    1) HUGE props to xplosive for being such a good team player!

    2) If you have skype, you should connect that way with xplo - "seeing" is believing when it comes to effective modem diagnostics...
     
  12. xplosive

    xplosive WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    #12 xplosive, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  13. TampaBondo

    TampaBondo Number 1 GE Wiimote User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumberland, RI
    Wii Friend Code: 8297-0574-6373-3839
    8297-0574-6373-3839
  14. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Now I can't even get to page 2 on my own question. If you guys are frustrated, imagine us sitting on this side! haha it's so frustrating!
     
  15. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Here i am! No skype here, I know they do that a lot on tv shows but I don't know anyone who skypes. probably because i don't even have the internet at my own house! DARN IT! I still am confused though because Medialink says that it is the Wireless-N router?
    So i'm confused as to if I am trying to get this set up through the Medialink equipment or the MOtorola equipment.
     
  16. Splash_King

    Splash_King The Scrubbiest of Hunters

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lostlorn Forest
    Wii Friend Code: 0129-0129-0129-0129
    0129-0129-0129-0129
    No worries over the double posts, got all that covered. :thumbsup:

    Error Code 51130 is a rather generic code I'm familiar with; if the problem isn't apparent and Nintendo doesn't have tried and true methods to fix it, you tend to receive said error code. A few years back I owned a router incompatible with my Wii, and received this code whenever I had the Wii attempt to connect to it.

    If you're incorrect and your router is the Motorola, the version model of that Motorola Router doesn't seem to be compatible with the Wii, since it isn't listed on Nintendo's list of compatible Motorola Router models...

    Unless your router is indeed the Medialink and not the Motorola hahah. If your Motorola isn't a router, it's most likely the modem. All modems are compatible with the Wii as far as I know; likewise, if your Wii has any issues connecting to the internet, the problems generally have to do with the router.

    What model is the Medialink? It should provide a number just like the Motorola did.
     
  17. xplosive

    xplosive WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Try to contact motorola or nintendo through the links i posted. One of them should be able to help you.
     
  18. herewego

    herewego WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Medialink MWN-Wapr150n
    wIRELESS-n bROADBAND Router

    so my guess is that the Motorola is in fact the modem. He said he does not have the DSL but it must be cable modem then? I tried looking it up and found it on Amazon too.

    i will try contacting them too, but not tonight. I'm even wearing myself out with all this..... but I do know I'm going to have to extremely HAPPY boys if I can get it all worked out!
    Thank you so much everyone~~~ I truly appreciate your kindness and taking the time to try to help!
     
    #19 herewego, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  19. xplosive

    xplosive WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    No problem, it feels good not to be the noob every once in a while:smilewinkgrin:
     

Share This Page