I dont understand component cables

2Wiitarded

WiiChat Member
Dec 4, 2006
Wii Online Code
7725-7615-5006-8472
First of all I'm new to these kind of cables and Im not that great with technology. I know what AV cables are and have been using those for ages. I recently picked up a nintendo wii with some component cables and I want a good picture on it with my HDTV 32' tv. So heres the part I don't understand. When I go to screen resolution I have a choice between 480i and 480p so Im guessing I go with 480p which is hdtv, but it splits my tv screen in half. Therefore I have to stay with 480i. Im I doing something wrong? I cant tell the difference between av cables and component cables. I think I'm doomed with all this new technology. :sad:

Well I don't have a HDTV so I have no real idea about what could be causing your problem. Try reconnecting everything or using another HD source (xbox360, SkyHD etc) to determine if its the TV or the Wii itself.

In relation to your guessing that 480p is HD you were semi-correct (480p is not technically HDTV but actually EDTV.The reason being that the p stands for progressive scan which means every line of the picture is drawn out in order (1,2,4,5,6,6,7,8,9,10 drawn in 1 refresh of the screen)
The i stands for Interlaced scan which means every second line is drawn then the missing lines are drawn (1,3,5,7,9 drawn then lines 2,4,6,8,10 are drawn)
As a result Progressive scan offers better picture quality than interlaced because using interlaced scan causes details to 'twitter' so anti aliasing is used to smooth the picture and this comes at the cost of the resolution and thus, quality.

Well the funny part is when I put it on 480p it splits the screen in half. Heres a picture on the message below.

This also happens when I enable progressive scan on my dvd player. Is my tv unable to do this sort of resolution? thanks for the repley.