Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

I feel totally stupid

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by cuzdav, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. cuzdav

    cuzdav WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just turned on my wii for the first time. The first thing it wanted was for me to press 'A' on the remote, which I did, it made a "bonk" noise, then went to the language selection screen.

    At this point, I cannot seem to proceed. No buttons select a language, and I cannot even highlight other languages besides english. I'd suspect 'A' would accept, but it does not--it simply does nothing. The power button works on the remote, and when I leave it sitting idle and the screen goes dark, pressing buttons on the remote does make it bright again. Therefore it is properly synced, the batteries functional, and the machine can receive the signal. However, I cannot figure out how to actually accept the selected language, and so I'm stuck.

    I've tried every button, every combination of buttons, the nunchuck, holding them for long (and short) durations, waving the remote around, and still nothing works. Rebooting does not help either.

    Any ideas how to get past this? I like to think I'm not stupid, but things like this raises my doubts sometimes.

    Thanks for any help...

    Chris
     
  2. xpirate77

    xpirate77 Wiiiiii

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    well some questions first, on the bottom of your wiimote, there are 4 little boxes...the first(all the way to the left should be lighted up, but ONLY that one) is it?

    also, is the cursor for the wiimote appearing on the screen?
     
  3. Bulldogxx831

    Bulldogxx831 Boredom at it's best

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wii Friend Code: 4046-8847-6412-2793
    4046-8847-6412-2793
    Damnit this happend to me and I already forget how i fixed it. Im sorry. Just wanted to say its not only you.
     
  4. MiiM

    MiiM WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 6646-0448-8962-8326
    6646-0448-8962-8326
    Wii remote...

    Hey there cuzdav,
    I'm not sure but it I haven't heard you say anything about the sensor bar. Is it installed correctly? and in the center of your screen? Is it below or above your screen? Is it facing the right way? You should see a little hand move around the TV screen if its all done correctly. Use the Wii remote like a Mouse on a Computer. Good Luck...

    Wii Ya...
    MO
     
  5. cuzdav

    cuzdav WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    solved

    thanks for the feedback everyone.
    In checking the sensor bar, I tried unplugging it from the console and plugging it back in and then things began to work. I think the original connection wasn't in quite right.

    Now for the bad news: 110213. :(
     
  6. Homesrfan

    Homesrfan ftw

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    8
    That's a fatal error code, I think... that means you have to ship it back to nintendo. :(
     
  7. lynn

    lynn WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Start swinging the remote side to side until you see the little cursor hand. Same thing happened to me before I figured out what was going on...
     
  8. santana6616

    santana6616 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    F.Y.I just so you know, the sensor bar works much better the further back you get
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to select language on wii
,
how to select language on wii screen
,
nintendo wii stuck on language screen
,
wii console stuck on the language screen
,

wii language selection

,
wii language selection screen
,
wii select language
,
wii select language screen stuck
,

wii stuck on language screen

,
wii stuck on language selection screen