Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

In need of help with HDTV cables

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by FRuMMaGe, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    I bought a new HDTV, and I would like to have my Xbox and my Wii plugged into the component port.

    I bought a component cable that has connectors on the end for Wii, 360 and PS3. It also says on the packaging in small writing (only plug in 1 console at a time) but it does not give an explanation why.

    It would be far more convenient for me to have them both plugged in, but why does it say I shouldn't?

    Please don't speculate, as I don't want to break my consoles or TV
     
  2. [DT]

    [DT] Gearhead Surf Coder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    If it doesn't have [good] switching (that completely isolates the various input/ouput) then you could wind up sending multiple video signals in to the set and/or send video out of one console and *in* to the other!

    This could be as mild as anomalous video output to a smoked console.

    It's designed for a single source out, to a single source in.
     
  3. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    So what is the worst case scenario (realistically) of having my Wii and 360 plugged in simultaneously (only 1 turned on at a time).
     
  4. Owen0501

    Owen0501 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worst case scenario is that you could damage the TV's component port rendering them unusable and would have to use the scart socket or other only. It should not fry the TV just the the component port.
     
  5. stumac1985

    stumac1985 You lost the game!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 6277-9684-7412-8057
    6277-9684-7412-8057
    worst case is you end up frying your tv, your wii and your 360. It is unlikely but is theoretically possible. especially as mistakes happen!
     
  6. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    I've looked at other versions of these cables all over the internet and non of the others specify to not put them in multiple consoles at once.

    What should I do?
     
  7. stumac1985

    stumac1985 You lost the game!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 6277-9684-7412-8057
    6277-9684-7412-8057
    not plug them in at once, i honestly wouldN'Ttrust something like that unless it was costing me £40/50 just for the switching! I have worked in the trade and seen these kind of things go wrong too many times before!
     
  8. Celestial

    Celestial WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    London, England
    Wii Friend Code: 3049-9371-2306-9680
    3049-9371-2306-9680
    I think I might have the same cables... Madcatz? But yea, it wouldn't let me plug the 360 and Wii one in at the same time, only let my 360 go up to 480p, so I can only have it plugged into the 360 so it can go up to 1080p.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Thanks for this. Repped :yesnod:
     

Share This Page