Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Japanese Modded Wii & SSBB

Discussion in 'Smash Brothers' started by dtseng, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a Wii as a gift a few months ago. However, this Wii is a Japanese model and it was modded.

    I’ve been able to play burned games as well as real ones. I bought Guitar Hero III here in America and it works perfectly fine with my console. However, this morning I bought SSBB and my console couldn’t read it. I understand that a few people have had problems reading the Brawl disc b/c their lasers couldn’t read the dual layer so they sent it to Nintendo. However, I obviously will not be able to do that since my system is modded.

    I do not know if the mod is a chip or a software that’s installed on the Wii. Regardless, I cannot tell if the reason for not being able to read Brawl is because my system is Japanese (out of region) or because it is modded. Does anybody know how to possibly change a Wii to “all-region,” or “un-mod” the console? Or if you could link me to a place that could possibly give me the answer, that would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Milton.S

    Milton.S WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Tis why i don't like modding things :)
     
  3. COLDshiver

    COLDshiver Wii Owner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    America
    Wii Friend Code: 4532-8683-6668-7765
    4532-8683-6668-7765
    chipped Wiis can't read Brawl. It's not that your Wii can't read it, it's because of the chip. Don't know what to say, guess you can only play the japanese version if you take the chip out. Unless you want to buy an american wii.
     
  4. Battousai

    Battousai ṀàšŧěřĐ Ŧĥĕ Řévéřšĕ Ḃĺàđé

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    DeathCage New York
    Wii Friend Code: 5292-8413-5491-5395
    5292-8413-5491-5395
    pfft chips they finally got smart
     
  5. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ah i see. Well do you know why my system can read an American Guitar Hero III? I mean if it works with that game, shouldn't it work with an American SSBB?
     
  6. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d CheapAssGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SC, USA
    I have a modchip on mine so I could play the JP SSBB when it came out in Japan. I bought the retail US version and it works perfectly also. It all depends on the chip since Brawl uses Dual Layer disc (since Brawl is so big). Usually you need to update your modchip(if you have one that can) to read dual layer discs. Since you don't know your chip then it'll be difficult. The only advise I can tell you is to open the Wii and take a picture of the chip so people can identify it.
     
  7. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    Awesome. I will do that as soon as I can. I actually won't have access to my Wii for about a week and half, but would you be able to identify it if i took a picture of it?
     
  8. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d CheapAssGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Most likely unless it's an open source chip which could have few difference firmwares.
     
  9. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    Pretty sure it's not a region issue, it's definitely the mod chip.
    You probably have a Wiikey installed, and the Wiikey team is still working on their update for SSBB. There is a bug in the firmware that prevents the retail disc from working, but backed-up versions will run.
    There is a way to get your retail copy working, if you want you can PM me for a link to the instructions.
    How ironic for Nintendo to make purchased copies of Brawl render unreadable but ripped ISO files work properly o_O.

    And if you really want to un-mod it or control the modchip, a lot of modders out there can install a switch for you to turn your Wiikey on/off, or you could *possibly* get the chip removed with no trace of it ever being there, if you get a talented guy. =)
     
    #9 Celeste, Mar 10, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  10. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much. Just PMed you. I was thinking the exact same thing. Wouldn't Nintendo lose money by making Brawl unreadable by modded Wii's? It would only make me return it, and resort to burning ripped ISO files. Doesn't really make sense to me...
     
  11. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d CheapAssGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SC, USA
    You can't return opened games, they did their math ;)
     
  12. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    ^ He could sell it on eBay for more than he paid for it :p
     
  13. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha, I might do that. Celeste, could you send me the link for instructions that you mentioned earlier on getting my retail US Brawl to work for my Wii?
     
  14. Celeste

    Celeste WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wii Friend Code: 2937-4259-9208-4198
    2937-4259-9208-4198
    Sure, sorry I didn't before, the site was down for maintenance.
    EDIT: Still down. This is probably a good sign, there's probably an easier/faster way coming. The way I was talking about before involved pulling the plug on your Wii 15% into an update, etc.
     
  15. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha alright, thanks. Hm.. my Wii wouldn't even update when I put in Brawl. I had to find a translation online that had an English Menu compared to a Japanese Menu on the Wii mainscreen and update it through WiFi.

    Well if you discover another way, please let me know. Btw, are all modchips "wii-keys" or are there different ones?
     
  16. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d CheapAssGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SC, USA
    Just update it to 100%, all you get is 2 Japanese channels. That's what I did and it worked fine with no problems. When you get the US version working just backup your saves and reformat your Wii.

    The scene is down because too many noobs spamming 'why isn't brawl working?'
     
  17. ImmaShark

    ImmaShark WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I am also experiencing the same problem as well, and Celeste can you also PM me with the instructions?

    Btw when do you suppose the Wiikey team will come out with the new updates?
    and how do you update your wiikey? sorry the guy who sold it to me was speaking in a dialect that i did not quite understand.
     
  18. dtseng

    dtseng WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey evi1d33d
    here are some pictures of my wii. hopefully you'll be able to tell what kind of modchip i have based on these pictures. it took me awhile opening up the wii and yet, i'm a first year electrical engineer..thanks a bunch

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d CheapAssGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SC, USA
    First you gotta pull the drive out first. The chip is actually under the drive. Unscrew the 4 screws on the drive that attaches the drive to the wii and then slowly flip it over. There will be 2 ribbon (or w/e you call them) cables attach to the under side of the drive. The one with a lot of wires is the power and you just pull it off. The thin paper looking one is for data can you need to flip the 'lever' on the base of the cable to undock it. You should see a chip that is solder on the drive that doesn't look it should belong there. Take a pic of that.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
brawl does not work on my modded wii
,
how can i make my ssbb in japanese
,
how to make ssbb japanese ]
,

identify jap wii software

,
is it possibe to play the jap version of brawl on a modded wii
,

japanese modded wii

,

modded japanese wii

,
ssbb modded pictures
,
ssbb not working modded wii
,
wii model edit ssbb