New gun for the ps3. Better than the wiimote?

Wii&Ps3

Banned
Jan 6, 2007
http://blog.wired.com/games/2007/06/how_the_guncon_.html

Im not a techie with this kind of stuff. I will copy and paste what someone said about it from another forum

Frankly it's a totally different technology from Wii remote.
Wii remote uses IR sersor bar to do the positioning, like your leaser guiding missle.
But it uses much weaker and thicker red LED, which makes the guiding really rough.
The bottom line is Wii remote's pointing system is just not accurate enoguh for gun games on HD resolusion.
GunCon3 uses 2 makers and a CCD camera inside, basically working as reverse of eyetoy.
This means GunCon3 should have minimum,4x4 pixel accuracy which is very accurate for games.
I hope they put a simple 3D acceleration motion sensor on the lefthand stick.

There's a 360 and someone's played Project Sylpheed on it :shocked:

oh right right this is great that gun will be used for Time Crisis 4 and ummm ummm ummm ummmm ummmm ummm ummmmm I have no farther comments

Its namcos product, it looks a tad uglier than the ps2 guncon and it seems like this one is trying to mimic the arcade gun more closely. The orange color is used thanks to stupid gun laws that say toy guns have to look very fake, often using that orange color. The biggest problem faced with light guns is that with the introduction of hdtvs (lcd and plasma), the normal method of flashing the screen using lights wouldnt work.

Either way, it will be a better gun than using the wiimote, however its still considered a third party product so we shouldnt get too excited.

First off the quality probably won't be drastically better and if it's Namco they will probably be the only ones to use it since other developers won't really say "oh lets make a game requiring a third-party accessory that nobody owns that way Namco gets money... and it return we don't"