Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Nintendo Wifi Adapter questions.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by Slick_Gamer, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. Slick_Gamer

    Slick_Gamer WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok I don't own a DS, only a "Wii"
    I do have Windows/XP plus a Broadband DSL connection.

    Does this require a DS for it to work? cause I only have a Wii.
    Which electronic store can I buy this at and how much is it?
     
  2. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    no, it doesn't need a DS in order for it to work.

    the USB wifi dongle plugs into your PC and allows the Wii to connect
    to the internet though the USB dongle. it is effectively the same as
    windows internet connection sharing (ICS) which means that the pc will
    need to be powered on if you want to access the internet on the Wii.

    tbh, for a little bit extra, i would recommend buying a wireless router
    to connect to your DSL modem. a router will enable your Wii to access
    the internet independently of the pc.

    hth
     
  3. Tailwhip

    Tailwhip WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much money is a router like you suggested?
     
  4. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    depends really.

    a wireless cable router = £35

    a wireless ADSL/Modem router = £45+

    shop around and ensure you get the correct one for your broadband
    type.

    here in the UK we have cable broadband (NTL/Virginmedia/telewest) which
    use regular wireless routers, but we also have ADSL types (BT/Tiscali etc)
    which need the combined ADSL/Modem router scenario.
     
  5. billcsho

    billcsho WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    Where are you located? I saw a $20 wireless g router at OfficeDepot this week. It seems the broadband service in UK is somewhat different. Here you can use the same wireless router for Cable modem and xDSL. For DSL, some ISP requires PPPoE protocol capable router and most, if not all, current wireless router do support PPPoE. I have switched back and forth between cable and DSL several times in the last few years.
     
    #5 billcsho, Jun 4, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2007
  6. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    yeah, forgot to ask the op's location.

    billscho, some ADSL routers sold here in the UK state that they (mistakenly) require PPPoE, most notibly Belkin....when in reality ADSL users require PPPoA.
     
  7. billcsho

    billcsho WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    It seems things are much more expensive in UK too. I have 4 wireless routers running at home and they costed me only $8 to $20 after rebates. Two of them even have print server.
     
  8. rickroller44

    rickroller44 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    heh

    jammy git!!

    seriously, we pay over the odds for wireless equipment in the UK.

    i must be on my 8th router by now, and tbh, the average price is
    around £50....and i use a cable broadband (virgin media). those users
    who have BT (ADSL) lines normally pay anthing upto an extra £20 for
    the "same" kit except it has a built-in modem.

    my second two routers both had print servers (USB) but were fussy
    about what type of printer was attached, they only seemed to like
    certain HP models. also the option for viewing ink levels was taken
    away so that posed a few problems in itself.....printing an important
    document then the ink gives up the ghost...dammit!!
     
  10. gizzavii

    gizzavii "you'll never walk alone!

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 1429-3471-7810-2494
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    Seems like you were in the same boat as me.... i had that setup and went for the wifi dongle after much help and advice from fr3344ll (very helpful) :yesnod: on trying to do it another way but it was a bit over might head.

    The wifi dongle came with every thing i needed. I bought it off ebay and paid £20.00 for it. This was the offical nintendo one which set the pc up for me and every thing. All i did was insert the cd>installed the soft were> the conected the dongle (when instructed)> turned on the wii and set up a wirless connection it saw the wifi straight away and there it went!!!

    On the web for £20.00. No ds no effot no troble and besides you can sell the dongle if your not happy there good sellers on ebay!!!

    Good luck!!:ciappa:
     
  11. BIGTONE1

    BIGTONE1 BIG.T.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SOUTH COAST UK
    I personally would not go down the wireless connection because they are all crap and unreliable dropping out at the most inoportune times.I have an Xbox and tried that wireless and it was rubbish so I hardwired it as I have done with the Wii.No problems at all since I hardwired it.
    BIG.T.
     
  12. billcsho

    billcsho WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sometimes wireless connection can be tricky, but most of time my wireless network runs fine. I just need to restart the router once a month or so.
     
  13. billcsho

    billcsho WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    How much are you paying per month for the internet service? Here in the US is around $15-$35 a month for 1.5Mbps-6Mbps services. But one may get up to 3 months free. Routers can be free with computer purchase and I even made money by buying softwares. :lol:


    Yes, not all printers are print server compatible, but all my 4 printers (one Samsung laser, 2 Canon photo inkjet, and one Epson inkjet) runs fine. The Epson one even works thru a USB-parallel adapter in addition to the USB print server. You don't get bidirectional communication as in USB or parallel connection, so you lost most, if not all, maintanence function. The memory slots on photo printer and the scanning function of all-in-one printer are not supported either. Other than those problems, I like my print servers (2 on router, one wired, and one 802.11b wireless) that I don't need to keep a computer running to allow printing over the network.
     
    #13 billcsho, Jun 5, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2007
  14. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    i currently pay £17.99 for a 2Mbps connection, which tbh, i don't mind
    because as it's cable based, you do actually get 2Mbps, in fact
    most of the time the speed is nearer 2.5Mbps. over here a lot of ADSL
    users have issues with speed because of the distance they live from their
    local exchange...obviously, the further away you are, the slower the speed.
    iirc, it's down to the antiquated copper wires still in use!!

    yeah, thats a biiiatch.
    "brother" amongst others now offer affordable "true" network scanners
    which support TCP/IP over ethernet....there might even be wireless variants
    available. i remember seeing one (wired) for around £69 which isn't too bad
    for a network capable all-in-one.
     
  15. billcsho

    billcsho WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    I saw a brothers AIO with wireless and a 2.5" color LCD display for $99 here. My friend got one. I have not asked her if all the functions work over the network or just printing.
     
  16. trevorsantos

    trevorsantos Banned

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    7
    what does the wii need for it to be hooked up to a laptop computer for internet? oh and one more thing how do u guys put up new threads? i cant find it and i can only put comment people.
    thankz alot.:wink:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

connecting wifi dongle to virgin media router

,

how much is a wifi adapter for the wii

,

nintendo wifi dongle ebay

,

wifi dongle for dsl modem