Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

not a repeat question

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by williamset, May 7, 2007.

  1. williamset

    williamset WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a linksys wireless b router. It is using WEP encryption and I have successfully been able to get my Wii to connect to it many times. However, once my wii connects (and also when it's in standby) it screws with anything else connected to the router.

    Often, once my wii connects, no other computer in the house can start a connection with the router (if the computer was previously connected, it is able to maintain the connection).

    Can anyone please help? The Wii is preventing any other connections from being made to the router.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. williamset

    williamset WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. WIIMAN999

    WIIMAN999 WiiloveWii

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK!!!
    Wii Friend Code: 2319-8640-8665-4952
    2319-8640-8665-4952
    first try changing to router channel and set your computer to the primary ip address then the wii secondary. Note: i am not possibly sure this will work but anything is worth a try! ;)

    Rep me if this helps!
     
  4. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Be more specific on what the other computers can do. Are they loosing link? Are you unable to renew DHCP? Can you ping the router? Can you ping its external interface? If you unplug the Wii while the problem is happening do the broken machines start to work?
     
  5. williamset

    williamset WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    computers are loosing their IP address. They will still remaining connected to the router's network, but I'll get that yellow exclamation point over the network icon saying that I have limited connectivity.
     
  6. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    try using a static IP's for your computers and Wii
     
  7. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Whats the lease time configured as?
     
  8. williamset

    williamset WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Going to try the static IP thing tonight. That's the only suggestion I haven't tried yet.

    I am not familiar with lease time. Can you please explain?

    Thanks so much for the help!
     
  9. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Lease time is how long the address configured by DHCP is valid before the system has to ask for "permission" to use it again. If your connection isnt dropping then the only reason to lose the IP is the lease time expiring and the router is not replying to the renewal request.
     
  10. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even if the lease time is still valid the machine would check if the IP is in use and only use it if there is no other machine on the network using the same IP.

    To check if its a duplicate ip run ipconfig /release and then ipconfig /renew on your pc. This will release the DHCP address and get a new one from the DHCP server on your PC.

    Static IP is much easier as you know which machine is on which address. Also you can put your wii in a DMZ on your router if you have any online trouble playing games etc
     
  11. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    An IP address conflict wouldnt show the "limited connectivity" error message. Unless he has multiple DHCP servers it shouldnt be possible to get a conflict unless he configured a client for a static address within the DHCP range. The DHCPOFFER reply includes the MAC address of the client that sent the discover packets.
     
  12. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    The limited connectivity could indicate an IP address address conflict as the adapter would have a 169.x.x.x address. This would either be due to a static IP on the PC or multiple DHCP servers. Running ipconfig /all when the PC is working and not working would confirm this
     

Share This Page