Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

OMG Worst Thing Ever

Discussion in 'Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare' started by pbeesley, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. pbeesley

    pbeesley I'm The Crazy One

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth / UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8622-2818-8336-9466
    8622-2818-8336-9466
    Right could someone please help me! :mad:

    I just got a brand new Phillips 42" LCD screen. Worked Amazingly until I went and brought so component cables so I could put the Wii in "HD" mode. First game I tried was Zelda......worked great. Then Tried Mario Kart 64 again awesome but then horror struck. I went to play Street Fighter (SNES VC)


    NOTE : UK PAL WII
    REAL PROBLEM STARTS HERE So its starts to load but then the screen goes purple and the 'You Will need the Classic Controller' text started scrolling UP the screen :cryin: so the game starts and it bloody all scrolling up..... Absolutely unplayable. Its seems that some other people have been having similar problems but I couldn't find anyone with this problem..... http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-virtual-console/6464-video-turns-off-when-playing-virtual-console-games.html?highlight=game+problems

    -To try and fix this problem I have;
    -Taken wii outta HD mode and tried both 50hz and 60hz
    -Changed Aspect Ratio on both TV and Wii
    -Messed around with TV setting's for about an hour
    -Plugged back in basic composite cables and ran in both 50hz and 60hz (GAMES WORK FINE WITH THESE CABLES)
    -Screamed at Wii to try and persuade it to work
    - Cried
    - Looked on Net for solution
    - Cried some more

    I'm now begging for someone to help me out

    PLEASE SAVE ME

    Thanks :sick:
     
    #1 pbeesley, Feb 25, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2007
  2. dds

    dds WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    i dont think your problem is really fixable....its something nintendo has to do with a firmware update....the best i can recommend for you is to try and re download the game
     
  3. pbeesley

    pbeesley I'm The Crazy One

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth / UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8622-2818-8336-9466
    8622-2818-8336-9466
    I checked and its happening with ALL SNES and SEGA games that I have. I think its something to do with the VC trying to run in 50hz when the TV trying to do 480i.

    Any Tech Geeks have any opinions?
     
  4. adf3424sdff

    adf3424sdff Guest

    Top Poster Of Month

    try smashing your telly, punch someone in the eye twice and buy a new tv
     
  5. zeon9881

    zeon9881 Slowly drifting away

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    My PSN is zein9881
    Wii Friend Code: 7428-8550-5786-2492
    7428-8550-5786-2492
    maybe u need a better cable
     
  6. fistpittingnork

    fistpittingnork Spliffer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Wii Friend Code: 1137-5638-7724-4772
    1137-5638-7724-4772

    I think you're pretty much understanding the problem. I don't know the details, I have my Wii hooked up to my CRT tv via rca cables so I can't say I've been able to try playing VC games on HDTV via components, but from the looks of it, you're problem is quite common. I have seen a couple people who actually had to have Nintendo replace their Wii's which solved the problem. I'll try to find the link to another forum where I saw this being discussed.
     
  7. pbeesley

    pbeesley I'm The Crazy One

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth / UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8622-2818-8336-9466
    8622-2818-8336-9466
    Ffpnork - That would be great thanks
     
  8. pizzaluvr

    pizzaluvr world crown chimpokomastr

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NW Arkansas
    the wii isn't HD
     
  9. pbeesley

    pbeesley I'm The Crazy One

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth / UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8622-2818-8336-9466
    8622-2818-8336-9466
    well 480p res
     
  10. pizzaluvr

    pizzaluvr world crown chimpokomastr

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NW Arkansas
  11. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its because the wii outputs at 50hz rather than 60hz for NES, SNES and Megadrive games.

    I have emailed Codestorm about this who are almost useless and take days to respond. They initially stated only a few tv's are affected, but when I asked them to supply me some lcd tv's which were not affected they were not able to. They were not able to give me any info on the problem, except Nintendo were looking at it, and once its resolved nintendo will issue a press release.

    Hopefully Nintendo will sort this out and my Wii purchasing is on hold. Just in case I have to purchase a US version, and replace the 8 wii games and 16 VC titles I have already purchased.
     

Share This Page