Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Possible to connect Wii via wireless ad-hoc network?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by chsoriano, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. chsoriano

    chsoriano WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 2361-7492-7880-5734
    2361-7492-7880-5734
    I was wondering if it is possible to connect the Wii to a wireless ad-hoc network created using my laptop's wireless. I am not allowed to have a wireless router (I live in a dorm) and am hoping I can still connect it to the internet through my wireless laptop. Any advice?



    Chris
     
  2. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    No, get a wifi usb adapter for your laptop. Your laptop is either going to be acting as an ad-hoc host, or it's going to be connected via LAN. Not both at once.
     
  3. chsoriano

    chsoriano WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 2361-7492-7880-5734
    2361-7492-7880-5734
    I don't get it... why can't I have my laptop connected to my LAN and act as an ad-hoc host? I just did it yetsteday, I connected a couple of other laptops through my laptop... isn't that almost the same thing?
     
  4. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Because unless your laptop is wifi enabled, it won't be deteced as a WiFi hot spot. And When I say via LAN. I mean connected to the internet via Ethernet. Your network adapter is either going to be using an internet connection, or a wireless Ad-Hoc connection.
     
    #4 vagrant, Nov 14, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
  5. chsoriano

    chsoriano WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 2361-7492-7880-5734
    2361-7492-7880-5734
    Oh... I thought I could just connect to the internet through my LAN, create an ad-hoc wireless network, bridge the connections, enable ICS, and connect the Wii to the ad-hoc network.
     
  6. registerednerd

    registerednerd Wii online moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    I think that's right. but I'm not sure. It makes sense to me. The only thing is that you would need to remember to set the gateway IP in the Wii to the IP address of your Wireless card. I think. Networking is not my specialty... yet...
     
    #6 registerednerd, Nov 15, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2006
  7. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    If you have a nic and a wireless card you can do that, as long as you make sure to statically assign the ip information.

    Then again if you have both cards and you already know how to setup an ad-hoc...than why did you even have to ask?
     
    #7 vagrant, Nov 15, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2006
  8. chsoriano

    chsoriano WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 2361-7492-7880-5734
    2361-7492-7880-5734
    I just wasn't sure if I could do it... and I don't have my Wii yet so I can't figure it out first hand. I don't really have much experience networking. I'm just going to give it a shot. When you say to assign a static IP address... do you mean telling the Wii exactly how to connect? Is that assuming that we are going to have that option on the Wii?
     
  9. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Well your going to have to fill in the ip and gateway and i believe subnet mask info. Because it's not like having a router where you have DHCP to assign it dynamically.

    You should be fine.
     
  10. infernocs

    infernocs WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can use WinXP ICS in bridge mode and your ISP or Local network gives you access to a DHCP server you should be fine without making any settings on the Wii.

    This is exactly what the Nintendo Wi-fi dongle does on your PC.
     
  11. chsoriano

    chsoriano WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 2361-7492-7880-5734
    2361-7492-7880-5734
    Well I'll be using Vista... but I get the idea, I think I should be able to figure it out. Thanks for the advice. Just in case, I'll be sure to let you all know if I get it to work come Sunday. :)
     
  12. Tacos

    Tacos Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if I am an idiot, but I am confused.

    If I have internet, but don't have wireless, do I need to buy something to hook it up to my router?

    I have seen some info that says that the Wii will come with a LAN adapter or something like that. (I don't even know what LAN is.) Maybe that is only in Japan though.

    Also, I was thinking about getting the wireless thing for the DS. Will that work for my Wii as well?

    I am at a loss. I have no internet skills, and will be kinda upset if the internet function on my Wii doesn't work when I get it.
     
  13. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    The "internet function" just means it can be used on the internet, it doesn't gurantee it. The lan adapter doesnt come with it. So you either have to buy one, or you have to connect your wii wirelessly. I'd recommend googling up some info on wireless routers or lan adapters.
     
  14. Tacos

    Tacos Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks and sorry.

    I have already found some info on this site that has helped me.
     
  15. b0g8

    b0g8 ruler of all things wii

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lindsborgthecraphole, ks
    Wii Friend Code: 3186-3089-1145-2073
    3186-3089-1145-2073
    oooohhhh boy....

    ok....i've got internet sharing up and its working....but....my wii won't connect...i've done everything i can think of :idea: ...and i really want to update it....HEEEEELLLLLPPPPP!!!! please...
     
  16. jus.

    jus. WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use ad-hoc with my mac. you using a mac? look up info on how to share with a DS and you're in homeboy!
     
  17. b0g8

    b0g8 ruler of all things wii

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lindsborgthecraphole, ks
    Wii Friend Code: 3186-3089-1145-2073
    3186-3089-1145-2073
    yeah our school gives us laptops lol.. thanks :D
     
  18. hobomilitia

    hobomilitia WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am in a somewhat similar situation....

    i actually have a wireless router, but im across the house so the signal sucks (plus the router kinda sucks anyways) so i cant usually connect to it

    ill first explain the original setup and then my attempted setup:

    orig:
    bellsouth dsl modem -> an old linksys b router (i dont remember specific model but its wired and wireless) -> nintendo wii

    basically ive got a lan line running into the room, and i can hook my laptop into it with the integrated ethernet card and i am attempting to create an ad-hoc network through the integrated wireless card. i also shared the lan connection. so far i can detect it with the wii, but it gives me an error when i try to test connection saying that it cant connect with the server and i should confirm the ssid.

    i have tried assigning it an ip and a dns server, to no avail. i am not 100% sure if i am doing it correctly, as i am not too familiar with adhoc networking. i used my moms laptop to connect to the ad hoc network, and it connects fine and can access the internet, so i basically mimicked its settings only changing the ip adress. i tried connecting again, but it still doesnt work. im not sure if im doing something wrong or if its just not possible.

    either way its not that big of a deal since i am only in this situation when im at my parents house. when i go back home it works fine connected to my linksys g router

    anyways if anyone has any suggestions itd be appreciated.
     
  19. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Bridge the connections, and give the pc and the 360 connections an ip on the same subnet.
     
  20. hobomilitia

    hobomilitia WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    360? do you mean wii?

    anyways i tried bridging the connections but when i did the internet connection wasnt shared so there was no acess.

    maybe im putting in wrong settings....

    are the gateway and dns servers supposed to be the same that my laptop uses, or am i supposed to use my laptops ip instead?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ad hoc wii
,
ad hoc wii u
,
connect wii to ad hoc
,

connect wii to ad hoc network

,
how to conncet a wii u to a ad-hoc connection
,
how to connect wii to ad hoc network
,
wii ad hoc
,
wii ad hoc wireless
,
wii adhoc
,
wii u ad hoc