Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Problem with the Wii's 480p EDTV redsolution

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by KsMuffin, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. KsMuffin

    KsMuffin WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, I am an owner of a RCA Home Theatre tv, it's 52". More info regarding my tv can be found here:

    http://support.rca.com/faqs.html?&n...39&selectedFamily=generic&deviceId=198&nvty=m

    Anyways, I recently purchased some component cables for Hi-res gamming.

    This set of cables were made by Psyclone ESSENTIALS.

    Ok so I tune my channel to Input 2, where the component cables are. The Wii is running fine, the cables are sending information in regular resolution. So I goto Wii options to turn on my 480p. The minute it's on a black bar goes through the screen vertically and my tv acts like there's nothing connected to the tv. The sound from the cables are still making it through but I can't resolve this problem. :|

    My hypothesis is when I turn on the options the cables start sending DiV signals I think? And the tv is blocking them due to its not set up, or there might be a set-up/option iam missing.


    Please, any information towards fixing my problem is greatly appreciated!!! :thumbsup:
     
  2. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    You have to have something setup incorrectly as far as the cables go. This is the kind of thing that happens when you have a device setup to display in a resolution the cables won't allow it to.

    Are you sure the component cables are hooked up correctly? Perhaps you have the two reds switched around?
     
  3. KsMuffin

    KsMuffin WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im pretty sure the red cables are in the right spot, I'll switch them around to see.


    EDIT: When I switch them, the speakers on my tv make a "rrrrrrr" sound, when I switch back it stops.

    But as far as I know I haven't set up anything on my tv about hi-res.

    I looked at RCA's website for the owners manual since I don't have mine, I couldn't find the info I was looking there.

    You said the device has to allow it, maybe that's the problem?
     
    #3 KsMuffin, Jul 8, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2007
  4. a30993

    a30993 WiiChat?!!?! WHERE?!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wii Friend Code: 4108-4051-0390-8129
    4108-4051-0390-8129
    I don't know, try using a different set of component cables. It's very possible that your brand of cables AREN'T compatible with your TV.
     
  5. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Why would any brand of cables not be compatible with an RCA tv....

    And to the OP, I don't know why you would have to change a setting on the tv. If you have it on the correct input then it should automatically detect the resolution.
     
  6. KsMuffin

    KsMuffin WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I saw the Wii menu for like 3 seconds, now the tv is making white horizontal bars soar downward on the tv. :sick:
     
  7. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    I would just google around about wii on your specific tv I guess. I am not sure what the problem is because I have used like 3 different Psyclone brand component cables for the wii and never had any problems with them.
     
  8. JackDaniel

    JackDaniel WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Wii Friend Code: 0420-6688-7408-3290
    0420-6688-7408-3290
    Your t.v. doesn't seem to have support for 480p. It's standard definition so 480i is the best your going to get. But the component cables will still give you a cleaner picture even at the same resolution so good buy anyways.
     
  9. KsMuffin

    KsMuffin WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1

    Oh well, that's still good to know. ^^

    It was a good buy too, cause this will support the 360,ps3 and ps2.
     
  10. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Ok wow ya I just looked up the TV and your right this tv is about 6 years old and doesn't seem to have support for 480p.
     
  11. a30993

    a30993 WiiChat?!!?! WHERE?!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wii Friend Code: 4108-4051-0390-8129
    4108-4051-0390-8129
    Muff, you can always give those cables to me.. I could use 'em ;)

    I'll give you B&W 2 back when you get your new comp.
     
  12. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Apparently a lot of people including myself have that cable. It's pretty cheap I got it for $20 at wal-mart.
     
  13. a30993

    a30993 WiiChat?!!?! WHERE?!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wii Friend Code: 4108-4051-0390-8129
    4108-4051-0390-8129
    Yeah, But I have an ass of a dad. He doesn't want the comp. cables. Even if I want to buy them. He doesn't even give me allowance anymore, He owes me over 200$ of it so far... pissing me off.
     
  14. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Get a job and quit complaining...
     
  15. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    You beat me to it :(
     
  16. KsMuffin

    KsMuffin WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lol yeah, got it back in 2001. xD

    Pretty darn good buy if you ask me!:lol:


    I appreciate all the help you guys have given me, thanks alot.
     
  17. SadistBlue

    SadistBlue WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado
    Wii Friend Code: 7081-4874-6456-6678
    7081-4874-6456-6678
    It probably doesn't support progressive scan.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
switch wii to edtv
,
wii 480p
,

wii 480p edtv

,
wii games that support edtv
,

wii no edtv setting

,

wii screen resolution 480p problem

,
wii tv resolution won't allow 480p
,
wii won't allow to change screen resolution
,
wii wont allow 480p with component
,

wii wont switch to 480p