Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Problem with VGA cable

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by xFyre, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. xFyre

    xFyre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I bought my Wii 3 days ago, and I had it connected to a standard TV through the scart plug. I bought a VGA cable so that I could connect it to my monitor, but I have a problem.

    From time to time, the screen goes black for about 2 seconds, and then it goes back to normal.

    I'm using a cable I bought in a video game store, and it's connected to an 1080p Asus VH242H screen, through the VGA plug. I am using the EDTV/HDTV setting on the wii.

    What could be wrong?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Suraj7

    Suraj7 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 4053-4019-7424-8561
    4053-4019-7424-8561
    You require a component cable to use the HD settings on the Wii. A VGA cables max setting is 60Hz.
     
  3. xFyre

    xFyre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I do select 50 or 60 Hz, the picture goes out of place, in a way that it isn't adjustable with the "Screen Position" option. And in the back of the cable's box it says to select the EDTV/HDTV settings.
     
  4. Suraj7

    Suraj7 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 4053-4019-7424-8561
    4053-4019-7424-8561
    Oh right I think I know what you mean. I don't have any experience with VGA cables, I thought you meant something else. All I can think off is that, have you connected the cable properly in the VGA slot in your monitor?
     
  5. xFyre

    xFyre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, checked all connections and everything looks in place. I'm going to try it on a non-HD monitor and see how it goes. If it does the same thing, it's probably the cable.
     
  6. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    No
    With my old one I could get the Wiis HD setting
    Sadly my VGA cable has decided not to work on my monitors and only via the VGA connection on my TV
     
  7. Suraj7

    Suraj7 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 4053-4019-7424-8561
    4053-4019-7424-8561
    Yeah I realised my mistake :(
    I was thinking of some other kind of cable.
     
  8. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    S-Video maybe?

    Anyway to the OP
    Do you have a TV with a VGA input?
    if that fails take it back and ask for a replacement
     
  9. xFyre

    xFyre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a video projector.

    I have tried to link the wii to the other monitor I talked about and it did the same thing, but now I am unsure if it's the cable itself, or if the Wii has some kind of problem. I am going to do a test. Since the cable has two different connections, one for the Wii and another one for the PS3, I will try to hook it up to my PS3 and play for a while, to see if the same thing happens.

    But, since my projector has both standard video in and VGA, I can just try to connect the Wii with both cables and see the results.

    One more thing, it's not the screen, since it's working just fine with the PS3 and the PC.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
random black screen wii vga
,
setting the wii to 60 hz now works with monitor
,
vga cable wii black screen 3 seconds
,
vga setting on wii?
,
what else can you do with the vga cord
,

wii vga black screen fix

,

wii vga cable black screen

,
wii vga cable black screen fix
,
wii vga cable screen goes black
,
wii vga cable screen problem