Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Problems connecting to internet with my Wii

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by hksup2001, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thoroughly frustrated with my wii. I've been trying to make it work for several days, and it aint' working. I've fixed my channel to 11, made sure DNS, and the other thing is on auto, and tried manually configuring this thing. It still won't work. I have a 2wire 1800HG router and my labtops work fine with it. I've already tried making my router without the enscryption, and tried connecting my wii to it. It still gives me the annoying message, error code 51330. I feel like i can't go anywhere with this. Can ANYONE help me?! I'm really starting to give up.
     
  2. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
  3. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried everything in that site has to offer... STill not working
     
  4. surfinrach90

    surfinrach90 I GOT A JAR OF DIRT.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,468
    Likes Received:
    79
  5. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Why did you choose channel 11? How many other wireless access points in your vicinity are using channel 11? How many are on channel 1? Channel 6?

    Are you using MAC address filtering on your router?
     
  6. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using channel 11 for now, because I already tried channel 1 and it didn't work. The site said channel 1 or 11, so i'm trying both. Also, for MAC filtering, I tried to find it on my router setting, but I couldn't find it. I know it's also known as access filter, and etc, but I still can't find any of those names... Maybe mine doens't use MAC filtering.
     
  7. registerednerd

    registerednerd Wii online moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    glad to see my old threads are still being used after all this time :cool:

    As far as a 2Wire modem, try resetting to factory defaults, there is a number located on the bottom of the modem (if I remember correctly, it is in the lower right-hand corner of the label). That is your WEP key, you should be able to connect without too much difficulty.
     
  8. adamkilla2002

    adamkilla2002 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this youth

    Dude i had this problem for ages same code as well what i did is go into my router settings and change the security type from WAP to a WEP key
    which will give you 4 possible codes any will do and type it in without spaces after it worked straight away never looked back Trust me it worked for me
    :yesnod: :yesnod: :yesnod:
     
  9. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    WEP is useless for security in this day and age. You might as well have no security.

    It's 2008. You should be using WPA at a minimum, if not WPA2.
     
  10. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made all my things on default, but still doesn't work... Is it possible that this might be not related to the security code at all, because I did disable the security code and it still couldn't connect. What are the other possibilities? Thanks for answering guys.
     
  11. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    There are plenty. See my post from yesterday at 1:09PM. You didn't answer my other questions. These are relevant to the other possibilities.

    Help us help you.
     
  12. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so I chose channel 11, because channel 1 didn't work either. Now it's on channel 6. (for some reason, after I reset all the settings, I only have choice of channel 5, 6,or 7) Anyways, that's that. I have no clue how many of my wireless access points are on different channels, but I can tell you that I can only pick one and I don't have many wireless devices that my router connects to. (only 1 or 2) Thanks
     
  13. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh sorry, I forgot to answer the last question. I don't think my router uses MAC filtering, because I can't find the option for that in my router settings.
     
  14. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Well you might have an interference problem. Not only might there be other people using wifi channels in your area, but there could be other types of devices using the 2.4GHz spectrum... they don't have to be "wifi".

    Step 1 is to use whatever "site-survey" type utility came with your wireless card to determine who else is out there. If you don't have any or can't figure it out, download NetStumbler.

    This will only show you wifi stuff though, not things like cordless phones, microwaves, etc. That takes special equipment. If there's too much 2.4GHz interference (wifi or otherwise) in your area, you might not be able to use wifi.
     
  15. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    But then wireless internet for my labtops work fine. And also, my wii does pick up my router's access point. (maybe that has nothing to do w/ others interfering w/ my wifi)
     
  16. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, i guess the location of my wii was the main problem. It was under my TV, and I moved it and it finally connects now. But I get teh error code 52730 now... which says another device has been set up using same IP address. how do i fix this problem
     
  17. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    If you're running the router and you're using DHCP and not static IP addresses, that shouldn't happen.
     
  18. hksup2001

    hksup2001 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, after 4 days of trying, I finally fixed it. Great help1! thanks alot
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
issues connecting wii internet
,

my wii is not connecting to the internet

,
my wii isnt connecting to internet
,
my wii isnt connecting to the internet
,
my wii's not connecting to the internet
,
problems connecting wii to internet
,
trouble connecting wii to internet because of wap
,
troubles connecting to the internet through the wii
,
wii connecting to the internet\
,
wii problems connecting to the internet