Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Question about ethernet cord type

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by Jatycre, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. Jatycre

    Jatycre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 0360-6187-8889-2400
    0360-6187-8889-2400
    Ok, so I've gotten my Wii online, and it's great. I've got a bit of a problem though. The only way I can get my Wii to connect, is to plug it directly into my cable modem (I'm using the unoffical USB to ethernet adapter). If try and keep my internet running through my pc, and run my Wii to a second network card, it can't connect. My PC will even show that, that particular network connection has nothing, no connectivity. So I'm just wondering if I should be using a standard ethernet cable for this type of connection, or a crossover? If anyone knows, that would be a lot of help to me. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. adrelith

    adrelith Real men Wii standing up.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 3426-0769-3707-2375
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    The type of cable shouldn't be the problem. There's no reason that a standard CAT5/6 ethernet cable wouldn't work, and also no reason that you'd need to use a crossover. No, with what you are doing the reason that nothing is happening is because your Wii is connected to your PC and your PC to the internet, but there is nothing linking the Wii to the internet. What might fix this is to open up the connections windows on your PC highlight both connections, right-click and select 'Bridge Connection'. This assumes you are using Windows. I know it works using a PS2, as well as using multiple PCs but I've never tried with a Wii. Hope that helps :p
     
  3. wiifreek

    wiifreek WiiFreek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Maryland
    Just get a wireless router off of eBay for a few extra dollars, much easier and doesn't screw with any windows functions.
     
  4. adrelith

    adrelith Real men Wii standing up.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 3426-0769-3707-2375
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    The guy isn't using a router at all, just two NICs on his PC. And bridging the connections shouldn't interfere with anything in Windows, but using the net on your Wii might slow down your PCs connection, depending on your bandwidth.
     
  5. Jatycre

    Jatycre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 0360-6187-8889-2400
    0360-6187-8889-2400
    I tried bridging the connections, didn't work. Error code 51420. The thing is, for my Wii to pc connection, it never says anything on the PC but "a network cable is unplugged". It's not though. And I know the adapter works, because like I said going from the cable modem to the Wii directly, the Wii can connect.
     
  6. adrelith

    adrelith Real men Wii standing up.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 3426-0769-3707-2375
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    Sounds like you are going to need to buy a router then :( From what you are saying, it doesn't look like your PC can connect to your Wii. It might not be able to handle the requests etc that the Wii is producing, I'm not sure on details. One thing you could do is check that the second ethernet cable you are using is working properly. If the cables are fine, looks like getting a wifi router is your best bet.
     
  7. wiifreek

    wiifreek WiiFreek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hmm could of sworn I said that already :) Routers are cheap now !!
     
  8. adrelith

    adrelith Real men Wii standing up.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 3426-0769-3707-2375
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    Lol, you were right :p I was just trying to help him with what he actually asked :p
     
  9. registerednerd

    registerednerd Wii online moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    bridge the two network cards in the computer (select them both, right click, and choose "bridge"). You will probably need a crossover cable, but possibly not. Better yet, get a router, wheter wired or wireless.
     
  10. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    To run between two NIC's you will need a crossover cable, otherwise the NIC's will show as not connected.
     
  11. JoeTheZombie

    JoeTheZombie WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Idaho
    That depends... If at least one of the NICs is UCR Auto Sensing (many newer NICs are), a crossover cable is not required. However, traditionally NIC to NIC connections (a peer-to-peer network) do indeed require a crossover cable.
     
  12. Jatycre

    Jatycre WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 0360-6187-8889-2400
    0360-6187-8889-2400
    Ok, thanks guys. I had a hunch that a crossover cable was needed, as it's need for the same type of connection for an original Xbox. It's not needed for an Xbox 360 with that connection for some reason though.
     
  13. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is UCR Auto Sensing? Do you have any links? I thought auto sensing was to do with working out speed and duplex settings automatically?
     
  14. JoeTheZombie

    JoeTheZombie WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Idaho
    UCR = Universal Cable Recognition; the capability is specified in the 1000BASE-T specification, so straight through cables will work in almost all situations when using newer devices. They automatically apply an internal crossover, but only when necessary.

    Specific vendors have their own terms to describe this functionality. Netgear calls it "Auto Uplink and Trade" and others call it MDI/MDI-X or UCR/AS.
     
  15. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that. So as long as one NIC is a GB NIC and has the Universal Cable Recognition you can use a standard cable.
     
  16. adrelith

    adrelith Real men Wii standing up.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 3426-0769-3707-2375
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    That's the thing though. The connection isn't between to NICs.
    From what I understand it looks something like this:

    Wii-----[NIC1]=PC=[NIC2]------Modem

    The PC should be handling the transfer of data between the two NICs as there is no physical connection. Because of this there should be no need for a crossover cable. If it doesn't work with CAT cables then there's likely to be another problem. Anyways though, still better to get a router.
     
  17. gbesta

    gbesta WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Surely the USB to Ethernet adapter attached to the wii is a network interface. I was assuming he would need a crossover cable to connect the NIC in his PC to the USB ethernet adapter, unless as previously pointed out the PC NIC has UCR.

    My assumptions are based on the no connectivity shown on his PC OS. I agree completely on the getting a router as the easiest option.
     
  18. adrelith

    adrelith Real men Wii standing up.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 3426-0769-3707-2375
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    You're completely right :p I didn't think of it like that. But still, get a router :p
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

what kind of ethernet cable for wii

,

what kind of ethernet cord goes to the wii

,

what type of ethernet cable does a wii take

,

wii error code 51420 internet