Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Quick Vista Question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Almo, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. Almo

    Almo WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    43
    Wii Friend Code: 8407-4245-3370-0256
    8407-4245-3370-0256
    hey i just got vista and im wondering if i need to back up my HD before i intall it? will installing a new OS like that format my HD?
     
  2. Brawl_Luigi

    Brawl_Luigi Banned

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    4
    Probably. I'm not much of a windows person. I have a mac and during the process you can ask if you can format or something, but you should back it up, just in case.
     
  3. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Hm.... you bought the OS...

    I myself would dual-boot to XP.... Just until the compatibility kinks get rolled out.
     
  4. the_flood502

    the_flood502 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    =| why would you not buy it?

    I did...

    It depends what you choose... if you upgrade from 2000 or XP then no... all your files will not be deleted, but instead moved to a folder called 'windows.old'... where you can rescue your media...

    (NB - backing up, onto another media, is always advised anyway...)

    If you choose new installation then all files will... be removed...
     
  5. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Nah...i mean that usually people just build or buy when upgrading OS's.... I haven't heard of many people with vid cards that support DX10 who upgraded..... I dunno...

    Edit: made it coherent, lol
     
  6. the_flood502

    the_flood502 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    =/ i upgraded for the hell of it... well... actually... it really like it... it's much faster and runs a lot smoother than XP in my opinion...

    I do have a DX10 GPU, so there's that too ^^

    Also i got it cheap... £60 (cheaper when you compare it to full/non-student version)... student discount rocks... (10% off the price at topman ^^)
     

Share This Page