rangemax trouble please help im lost!

snarloas

WiiChat Member
Aug 1, 2007
ok lads iv got a rangemax wpnt834. im having serious problems getting my wii to connect at all wireless and i think im gonna go bald. the internet is working and my 360 works online. i cant seem to be able to connect or even see an acess point via the wii. im pretty new to the whole wireless stuff so could someone be a saint and help me.....

snarloas said:
ok lads iv got a rangemax wpnt834. im having serious problems getting my wii to connect at all wireless and i think im gonna go bald. the internet is working and my 360 works online. i cant seem to be able to connect or even see an acess point via the wii. im pretty new to the whole wireless stuff so could someone be a saint and help me.....
i think a little more information is required...

1. how are the other devices (pc/360) connected? wired or wirelessly?
2. is the SSID radio broadcast disabled?
3. what wireless "protocol" are you using? 802.11b(11Mbps) or 802.11g(54Mbps)?
4. how far is the Wii situated from the netgear router?...reason i ask is that this particular router is quite poor at broadcasting over distance.

if you could fill in a few gaps, we might be able to help.

1. wired
2. no.
3. tried all four of them
4. about 15 meters away

ok,

is uPnP enabled?

it seems strange that the Wii won't see the SSID broadcast, does it pick
up any neighbouring wifi networks?

have a look in your settings to see if there's anything out of the ordinary
which could be preventing the Wii from connecting.....it could be that
because the router is a "pre n" device, there could be a setting which
might be able to be disabled to let "older" a/b or g wifi devices communicate.

it could be that this particular router is not compatible with the Wii
for some reason...there seems to be quite a few which won't work
regardless of how they are configured.