Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Remote Play Question-Fast replies please?

Discussion in 'Playstation Consoles' started by SensesFail, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. SensesFail

    SensesFail WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ohio
    i was reading a wiki article on it and it made it seem like your ps3 has to be using wifi for remote play. will a constant lan connection not work? i dotn see why it wouldnt but heres a quote from the article-
    thats worded odd right? please let me know, i want to buy a PSP mainly for the remote play feature. btw i dont have the 20gb version, it's 40.
     
  2. gidget

    gidget . ☆ ☆ ☆ .

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    -= ohio, usa =-
    Wii Friend Code: 9999-9999-9999-9999
    9999-9999-9999-9999
    it must require peer-to-peer adhoc connectivity (direct connection to peers without needing an AP or wireless router)

    AP Mode is sometimes call infrastructure mode

    sorry that their tech writers suck... i'm taking a stab at it.
     
  3. jledesma

    jledesma PS-What?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mexico
    Wii Friend Code: 6520-0310-8610-0194
    6520-0310-8610-0194
    It needs to use wifi because the PSP has no other way to connect. However if you have your PS3 connected via ethernet cable to a wireless router you will be able to use Remote Play.

    PSP -> WIRELESS ROUTER -> PS3
     
  4. SensesFail

    SensesFail WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ohio
    okay heres how it's hooked up at my hosue. ps3 goes into the wireless router (not using wifi connection though) and my PSP will use the wi-fi at my house or where ever i might be. should this work?
     
  5. jledesma

    jledesma PS-What?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mexico
    Wii Friend Code: 6520-0310-8610-0194
    6520-0310-8610-0194
    Yes it should. That's the exact configuration I use.

    Also note that you have to enable the use of remote play via internet. This whay the devices will not try to connect using the ad-hoc option
     
  6. SensesFail

    SensesFail WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ohio
    okay cool, thanks jledesma.

    actually my friend agreed to let me use his psp for a couple weeks so ill be finding all this stuff out before i purchase a slim.
     

Share This Page