Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Router wifi problem

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by Clish, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. Clish

    Clish PM me if you add my wii

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8448-6260-2078-1629
    8448-6260-2078-1629
    so it turns out that my wireless router would not let me connect to play online.... and when i checked nintendo.ca it says that for the particular linksys router i have i need to disable to WEP key to connect.. which sucks caz then the network will be vulnerable... sign
     
  2. adf3424sdff

    adf3424sdff Guest

    I have a linksys router but i dont use WEP, i personally dont need WEP as most people in my area have a wireless connection , but its rare for someone to hack into your connection. All they can do is use your connection which isnt really that bad,unless you dont like people using your network. You do know you can enter your WEP key when your wii finds your connection. Im presuming thats what you need.
     
  3. Byuakuya

    Byuakuya Bleach & Heroes fan.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Its better to have it protected so that free runners don't leech off of you, although I can understand your position.
     
  4. Clish

    Clish PM me if you add my wii

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8448-6260-2078-1629
    8448-6260-2078-1629
    yah ... ISP's are charging for the amount we use... so i cant really afford to let others piggyback off us... but yah.. what i meant is that we cant even use WEP (at least what Nintendo says caz i can't connect) but hey.. it is kinda like a hit and miss thing.. sometimes it connects.... mostly it doesn't
     
  5. Byuakuya

    Byuakuya Bleach & Heroes fan.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Have you checked that your router is set to channel 1, 6 or 11. It connects much better on any one of these channels.
     
  6. lordmat0

    lordmat0 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just mac address filter it, WEP isnt needed.
     
  7. gamechaser001

    gamechaser001 Wii Nerd

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wii Friend Code: 2291-3059-0957-1397
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    So they charge for all traffic in and out on an always on connection? Dosen't that make some things hard to do? What if you run a program that requires an interent connection 24/7, wouldn't that get expensive? Anyway, yeah, somebody piggybacking your connection is never good definately if your connection is like mine where I run a file server
     
  8. lordmat0

    lordmat0 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    It really depends what that program is doing, if its downloading huge data then yes it would get expensive But somthing like wiiconnect24 doesn't use that much.
     
  9. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    that is why im glad my ISP gives unlimited upload and download. personally i dont care if someone uses my connection as long as it isnt anything illegal or anything that takes up lots of bandwidth. however every one of my neighbors have high speed so it doesnt matter :p
     
  10. Clish

    Clish PM me if you add my wii

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8448-6260-2078-1629
    8448-6260-2078-1629
    well the ISP doesn't charge per byte.. but what they do is limit your speed if you go over... you should check with your ISP too caz they advertise it as "unlimited" caz they do give you as much as you need.. they just restrict your speed if they need..... :mad5:

    and just an update.. i kept the WEP and it connected to nintendo's wifi thingy.... i played a game of tetris... yaya (got pwned..... :() but i still can't play MarioKart DS.... it like stays that the searchiing for player screen.. occationally i get this blinking thing but then it goes away after a while
     
  11. FWELR

    FWELR Bonds Passes Hank 8/7/07

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    California
    Wii Friend Code: 5926-3597-6847-7270
    5926-3597-6847-7270
    that just means there's no one on to play with. go worldwide and you'll always find some japanese kids to find (they're really good, though). that's not racist, please, no flaming.
     
  12. Oceanic

    Oceanic The Cake is a Lie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Australia
    Just out of curiosity, what brand of Linksys router do you have? I had the same problems with WEP on my linksys router and eventually figured out how to get it to work.
     
  13. Clish

    Clish PM me if you add my wii

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wii Friend Code: 8448-6260-2078-1629
    8448-6260-2078-1629
    i for the WRT54GC the one that looks like a square...

    and btw i was on worldwide o_O and still can't get ppl to play
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to piggyback off wifi with a wii
,

piggybacking wifi on wii

,
piggybacking wifi wii
,
piggypacking wifi for wii
,
router problems wifi picture fram
,
router/ wii problems?
,
wii piggybacking wifi
,
wii wifi problem