Should I get Smash Bros. (gamecube game) to practice for Wii Brawl???

Dubb's Wii

All Mighty
Jun 18, 2007
So. Cal.
Wii Online Code
7500-4049-1798-0971
Hello everyone. I find that the closer it gets to the release of Super Smash Bros. Brawl from the Wii, I grow even more and more interested in the game. I even went down to gamestop and reserved my copy for the day it comes out.
The game is looking pretty good (from the shots and screens that I've seen) and I am glad they have decided to take more time for a better game. So, anyways, as you can see, I am looking forward to the game and the online play.

Now, here is my question. I am new to the whole "Smash Bros." games series and haven't EVER played the original gamecube smash bros. game. I have years of experience playing fighting games as well as every other kind of game but I'm not sure if I should go get Melee for GC now to practice and get a feel for the game?? Is it a hard game to figure out or do you think I will be okay just picking up the Wii version and hoping right into the mix?? And is the Melee game for GC (when played on the GC or Wii) online compatible??? Just curious. Give me some of your thoughts.

Dubb's Wii said:
Hello everyone. I find that the closer it gets to the release of Super Smash Bros. Brawl from the Wii, I grow even more and more interested in the game. I even went down to gamestop and reserved my copy for the day it comes out.
The game is looking pretty good (from the shots and screens that I've seen) and I am glad they have decided to take more time for a better game. So, anyways, as you can see, I am looking forward to the game and the online play.