Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Slices in Image Ready

Discussion in 'The Design Lounge' started by demonflair, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. demonflair

    demonflair Slowly returning..

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Portugal, Portimão
    Wii Friend Code: 2967-1215-6372-5681
    2967-1215-6372-5681
    I never got to know what are they for... There's a menu, Slice menu, basically when you go to the slice tool, it selects an area, but what does it do??
     
  2. Gaz

    Gaz Poker Face :D

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London / Plymouth
    Wii Friend Code: 2042-8451-0487-7303
    2042-8451-0487-7303
    manily for web and print design.. but it's also used in graphics just to make sure things are lined out. most ameatures* won't use it..

    i use the term ameature meaning someone that doesn't earn money from using the software.
     
  3. Gymdawg

    Gymdawg ~I Spy Hypocricy~

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Her arms
    Wii Friend Code: 5981-2669-3238-7379
    5981-2669-3238-7379
    Gaz is right. Slices are used to split up images in a website. It makes creating template easier. Basically, you design the whole site in Photoshop or ImageReady (both can slice) and then...

    Screw it, I'm not typing all this out. Just go here:

    http://slicingguide.com/lesson2.html
     
  4. Gaz

    Gaz Poker Face :D

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London / Plymouth
    Wii Friend Code: 2042-8451-0487-7303
    2042-8451-0487-7303
    thats what i would use for a prime example of how not to slice!
     

Share This Page