TV Questions (480p to 720p)

RoninPedoroshin

WiiChat Member
Nov 30, 2006
Portugal
Wii Online Code
6185-7652-2351-7722
Hey guys,

First of all I am a TV noob. The only things I know well are stuff related to computers and such.
I'm about to sell my 15 year old big CRT TV to buy an LCD HDTV from LG. The model is LG 32LC3R - LCD TV (720p display format). It has a resolution of 1366 x 768 and 32'', image ratio of 16:9.

I would like to know, since the Wii displays at an inferior display format (480p), what will happen to the image and what will I need for the image to display properly?:

- Will the image stretch and be blurry because it's being transmitted in a resolution not native to the LCD (or doesn't 480p have a different resolution of 720p)?
- Will the image be surrounded by a letter-box or a pillar-box?
- What are the composite cables and component cables everyone is talking about? What's their function and what's the difference between them?

Thanks for taking your time to answer these probably silly questions but I just want to be sure before I go out and buy a new TV!

vagrant said:
The wii settings allow you to change between standard and 16:9

But is there no blurry effect due to the fact that the TV is LCD and the image transmitted from the Wii is 480p while the native format of the TV is 720p? Should I choose a CRT or Plasma instead??? I have no idea. Does component cable help or whatever that is?

Ok, the screen ratio of 16:9 has no relevance to the resolution (480p). So with that said, the Wii does 16:9 (which is widescreen) at 480p with the component cable accesory. Get an LCD, whichever is in your price range (Vizio's are the best bang for the buck) and the component cables and you will be set.

ABC said: