Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Using UK Wii in US

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by gu014, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. gu014

    gu014 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I purchased a Wii in the UK and i am wondering what i need to power the device here in the states. I purchased an US ac adapter from Gamestop but it does not power up the device. Can anyone advise me on exactly what i need to acquire. Thank You very much.
     
  2. ROB64

    ROB64 40lb box of rape

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Georgia
    Wii Friend Code: 0120-6723-8776-4093
    0120-6723-8776-4093
    The home power supply in the UK is 240 volts (i think), american is 120 volts.
    You'd probably have to get some sort of specialty adapter for it.
     
  3. FLYNNN

    FLYNNN Join The Sonic Fan Club!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Wii Friend Code: 0204-2578-2014-7346
    0204-2578-2014-7346
    Well for other electronic devices I've used in other countries [Ireland] you just need to buy a transformer you can get at most department stores or home depot type places. It's a small square like apparatus that plugs in to a regular outlet and your UK adapter can plug into the other end.
     
  4. Doug's Wii

    Doug's Wii WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you will find that it wont work at all, Different Power Supply or not, the UK Wii operates on the PAL system, the US Wii works on NTSC.

    I'd do a search on the Wii search box, you will find many bits of info on why it will never work.

    Sorry dude, but id try flogging it on Ebay.


    Google it if you disbelieve.
     
  5. JAKE196

    JAKE196 Cogito Ergo Sum

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Williamsburg, VA (U.S.A.)
    You will have to get an adapter and transformer.

    IT WILL WORK. However you will have to import UK games which are quite expensive. . . .
     
  6. gu014

    gu014 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, i purchased a Universal AC adapter from ebay which works anywhere in the world. So, that issue is resolved.

    Now, i realize that i need to purchase PAL games. That is fine as well.

    My question is will the PAL games output onto my US television? I will be using the included composite cables(Red/White/Blue) as i do not have an HDTV.

    I read somewhere that i would need to set the Wii to 60hz and it should be fine. Can anyone confirm this for me?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
converting a uk wii for use in us
,
ukwii.tk
,
using a uk wii in the us
,
using a uk wii in the usa
,
using a uk wii in usa
,
using a wii from uk in
,
using uk power adaptor on us set
,
using uk wii in us
,

using uk wii in usa

,
will uk wii work the us