Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

what cable do i need (ps3)

Discussion in 'Playstation Consoles' started by lamby8, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    what cable do i need for my ps3 to make it HD i got a HD tv but no hdmi input instead dvi but im lookin at dvi to hdmi cables and theres 2 types dvi-i or dvi-d which 1 do i need plz reply thx
     
  2. Shiftfallout

    Shiftfallout shiftfallout.com

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hollywood
    First, even though your tv is HD, make sure its HDcp. Second go with the DVI-D.

    DVI-I:
    DVI-I contains both the digital and analog connections, (DVI-D + DVI-A) , it's essentially a combination of DVI-D and DVI-A cables within one cable.
    DVI-D:
    DVI-D (like DFP or P&D-D (EVC)) is a digital only connection. If both devices being connected support a Digital DVI connection (DVI-I or DVI-D compatible) and are compatible in resolutions, refresh rates and sync, using a DVI-D cable will ensure that you are using a digital connection rather than an analog connection, without playing around with settings to assure this.

    Its reccommended you go for the DVI-D.

    Since i tend to literally type out essay length explainations, and im in the middle of something im going to do some copy and paste work to make it easier.

    HDCP
    "Although manufacturers are still making most products with at least component HD output, new generation of products like HD-DVD and Blu-Ray devices will limit the analog output resolution (Analog defined as Component or RGBHV). The highest resolutions these devices can output (720p/1080i/1080p) will be available on via the digital (DVI or HDMI) connections that employ HDCP encryption. Any new HDTV purchase should have a digital HDCP compatible input. "

    Hope that helped.
     
  3. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Shiftfallout

    Shiftfallout shiftfallout.com

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hollywood
    ah k. Just checked up on it for ya. Its not HDcp compliant, sorry. I heard that you can use a type of PS2 cable over the DVI-D/HDMI. Perhaps that would be a better rout to go rather than spend a lot of money on a cable that wont help much.
     
  5. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it anything like 480p or 720
     
  6. Shiftfallout

    Shiftfallout shiftfallout.com

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hollywood
    Your tv supports "1080i, 576 P, 480 P, 576i, 720 P, 480 i"
    But because it lacks HDCP, the PS3 will automatically downgrade it to 480p. If the TV were HDCP it then would fully be able to use the max offered by HDMI.
     
  7. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Shiftfallout

    Shiftfallout shiftfallout.com

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hollywood
  9. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    but 480p is still hd itsnt it sorry not very good with all this hd stuff
     
  10. Shiftfallout

    Shiftfallout shiftfallout.com

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hollywood
    perhaps. Im not the best with it either. All I know is what i have found out about it. To get full HD you need a HDCP ready tv. TVs arnt really my field so im only going of what information i can find or know previously.
     
  11. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    but 480p is still better than normal pictures isnt it
     
  12. Shiftfallout

    Shiftfallout shiftfallout.com

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hollywood
    480p - 704x480 So i guess if you want to call it HD you can. But i believe that resolution is more SD(standard Definition).

    Heres a link if you want to read up more on it. http://www.hdtvinfoport.com/HDTV-Resolution.html

    So what im getting is that HD quality is also associated with higher resolution, which is necessary for the high defintion.
     
  13. Oceanic

    Oceanic The Cake is a Lie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Australia
    Put it this way, the highest resolution the Wii can output is 480p with the component cables, so if you are buying the PS3 for the graphics, you might want to consider buying a tv that can support 1080p
     
  14. lamby8

    lamby8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers mate just ordering cable
     

Share This Page