What have I just done?

Roger_Kun

WiiChat Member
Jun 20, 2007
I was trying to put a chip in my wii (I'm very new to soldering but I didn't know anyone who can solder) with wires and when I was looking to see if the wire would stay on the board and it came off... leaving no solder on the board and it looked like there were some tiny wires on the bit of solder I took off. I put it back together and it worked so what do I do now?

Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Last edited:
Yea this is the wrong place, and I'm pretty sure any site that you go to will tell you that it is illegal to do this.

Roger_Kun said:
I was trying to put a chip in my wii (I'm very new to soldering but I didn't know anyone who can solder) with wires and when I was looking to see if the wire would stay on the board and it came off... leaving no solder on the board and it looked like there were some tiny wires on the bit of solder I took off. I put it back together and it worked so what do I do now?

You probably killed it.
Soldering well is not something you can pick up in a few minutes, so using a perfectly good $250 hardware device as your guinea pig is a bad bad idea.

If you are new to soldering, then modding is not for you. There are not any service available after the national crack down last week in the US. If there is any still available, they probably would not announce anyway. See the news from last week.

As others have said, it's not illegal. It's only illegal if you use it to play pirated games. If you mod it to play DVD's or install linux on it then its perfectly legal.

As for your situation, I did a similar thing to a PS1 back in the day and never experienced a single problem with it. It could have just been a path to a common ground, which may not always be necessary.

Read the news I linked above. Modding service has gone underground for now in the US.