Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Where do I plug my Wii?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Wiily Good, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. Wiily Good

    Wiily Good WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    OK. I have asked billions of questions about this before but I have just found out something else.

    Question 1: Will any component cables plug into the Wii console or do only Nintendo branded cables with a specific plug on the end work?

    Question 2: I have a 42" Grand Wega. It has 2 Component Video ports (Red, Green, Blue, Red, White), 3 AV ports, 1 HDMI port and a PC port. Both my component video ports are taken up by my HD set top box and my DVD player. One of my AV ports is used by my VCR. I'm assuming that component cables for the Wii plug into the Component Video Ports. I'm also assuming that the standard composite cables plug into a AV port. Is there a way, apart from unplugging my DVD player, that I can use component cables to plug my Wii into the TV?

    Question 3: Are there any other ways to plug my Wii into the TV (e.g. through HDMI, PC ports, S-Video ports)?

    Hopefully this isn't too confusing.

    Note- I guess this is one case where a combined Wii/DVD player would be useful.
     
    #1 Wiily Good, Nov 23, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2006
  2. COLDshiver

    COLDshiver Wii Owner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    America
    Wii Friend Code: 4532-8683-6668-7765
    4532-8683-6668-7765
    1. The component cables only fit into the Wii because of the shape of the input end.

    2. The compenent cables are the red, green, white, etc. So i think you might need to give up some space or switch the cables. The wii comes with red, white, yellow cables though.

    3. S-Video
     
  3. rottenbanana

    rottenbanana WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    is your dvd player hdmi capable? if not maybe you should just upgrade to a hdmi dvd player, and that'll free up one of your comp video ports.

    there's no way to hook up the wii to the hdmi port.. i don't think s-video cables are out yet.
     
  4. Wiily Good

    Wiily Good WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Question 1: Are the S-Video cables out yet?

    Question 2: Would S-Video cables give picture quality equal to component cables?

    Question 3: Is there such thing as a Component Cable switcher box where you can plug two devices into it and ‘switch’ between which device you want to use?

    Question 4: On the end of the Wii Component Cables that plugs into the Wii, is it a special Wii plug or is it a SCART plug or another type of generic plug?
     
  5. vagrant

    vagrant ₪ ۩ ₪

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Wii Friend Code: 8573-5327-9660-0097
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    component is red green and blue, not red green and white.

    And s-video pretty much sucks.
     
  6. Devilxier

    Devilxier WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    who uses a VCR nowadays anyways o_O;
    just unplug that big box of a VRC
     
  7. NateTheGreat

    NateTheGreat Pondering Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    A basement on the hill.
    Wii Friend Code: 4054-9249-4284-3802
    4054-9249-4284-3802
    Don't know, sorry. I'm guessing if they aren't out yet, they'll be out soon.
    No and they won't give you 480p Progressive Scan, nor true 16:9 widscreen, nor true Dolby ProLogic II. A component cable is the way to go if you have the kind of TV you have.
    I'm guessing there is, but I looked for one a while ago and came up empty, although I didn't look very hard. If any of your AV equipment could be switched to S-video, maybe that's the best way to go if you can't find a switch box.

    *EDIT* Just searched google for a component video switch, and look what I found:
    [​IMG] and [​IMG]
    The first one can be found here for $70 and the second one can be found here for $80. Sometimes a quick google search solves everything.:D
    Yeah, Wii has a proprietary port for component cables, so you'll have to get Nintendo-branded Wii component cables; SCART won't work.
     
    #7 NateTheGreat, Nov 23, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2006
  8. Wiily Good

    Wiily Good WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
  9. infernocs

    infernocs WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a TV like that you most likely have an A/V Receiver/Amp also???? With surround speakers?? If you dont, shame on you!!! Go buy one!

    Well if you do, most of them have component switches in them, I have a Yamaha and it has programmable I/O:s so I can choose witch audio source uses witch video source and so on.
     
  10. NateTheGreat

    NateTheGreat Pondering Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    A basement on the hill.
    Wii Friend Code: 4054-9249-4284-3802
    4054-9249-4284-3802
  11. Pacer

    Pacer WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing I can do is question number 3.

    I bought a switch box for switching component, composite, and s-video cords. It was cheap and you get what you pay for. It doesn't convert video settings, so you have to get about 3 different cords to make everything work. This is why I am stressing out about getting a Wii, because if I got one, I would have to use candles for the sensor bar and either buy the component cords (which I will do) or but another cord that goes into my projector.

    Kind of a bummer, but like I said, you get what you pay for.
     
  12. Wiiaretheworld

    Wiiaretheworld Wii Power User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Use an S-Cable for your DVD player, and a component cable for your Wii. Dont worry HD/blue ray DVD players will be the standard by next year, then you'll have to switch to an HDMI cable anyways.
     
  13. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Why would you have to use candles instead of the sensor bar.
     
  14. Pacer

    Pacer WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because as of this moment I have no screen and I don't wanna mount the sensor bar somewhere where I might have to take it down later.
    Though I will probably get the screen before I get the Wii because screens are easier to find than Wiis.
     
  15. xbandaidx

    xbandaidx WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 4857-5695-0490-5844
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Wow thats pretty optimistic. I dont believe they will be a standard for much longer than that. 1. So many people already bought a DVD collection, True HD-DVD players can play normal DVDs however. 2. Only 5% out there have HD sets, in order to be a standard it has to be much more than 5%.

    I also predict the Blu-Ray will die as well, Sony is digging themselves a grave lately. Last Quarter results showed a VERY small profit for a company of that size. They lost a lot of money on the exploding batteries senario. They are losing what 2-300 dollars on each PS3. Three major game publishers left the PS3 exclusive contract with Sony, a big one being Koei. Many game developers are NOT impressed with the PS3 at all.
     
  16. Tu Kewl

    Tu Kewl WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 1029-0506-8956-8392
    1029-0506-8956-8392
    Connect your HD box to your tv using an HDMI cable, then you have an open component for your Wii.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does wii have to plug into electricity
,
dvd is plugged into tv where do i plug in wii
,
how do i hook a wee u 2 attacchi ultra scan hdtv
,
how to connect a wii 5 plug av to a 3 plug switch
,
how to plug it in the wii
,
is there another reason for the wii cord
,
plugging a wii mini into dvd player
,
where to plug wii in if i have a dvd plugged in
,

wii plugging in diagram

,

wiii 5 plug av ton3 plug