Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wii Component Cables

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by -G-, Dec 10, 2006.

  1. -G-

    -G- WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    I couldn't see any threads with COMPONENT CABLE in the header so give me a break if this has been posted already;

    NTSC Gamecube had 480p Progressive Scan input for the Gamecube, PAL Didn't - FACT

    My HDTV Supports 480p / 480i and the rumour around town is that the PAL Wii games will be encoded with 480p Progressive - RUMOUR

    There are already component Cables on the Market, but which one shold I buy?

    I've ordered this - will it work?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fanatec-Pre..._1_2/203-8395296-3463116?ie=UTF8&s=videogames
     
  2. xbandaidx

    xbandaidx WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 4857-5695-0490-5844
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Yeah it'll work.
     
  3. -G-

    -G- WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Awesome.
     
  4. xbandaidx

    xbandaidx WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 4857-5695-0490-5844
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Reason why I say that is because it ships around there. However I do know that PAL has a different number of lines on their televisions. Um, basically do you have a TV that states that it has 480p or something?
     
  5. Xanthan

    Xanthan Hardcore Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Wii Friend Code: 6188-0435-3585-1038
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    The difference in visual quality of most Wii component cables will be hard to tell apart. The main price difference comes from cable length. In order to keep the same noise/signal ratio on longer cables they have to use better quality components, shielding etc. which increases the cost. Pretty much any Wii component cable will get the job done. You prolly wont be able to tell the difference between a $30 cable and a $60 cable, so really get what you're comfortable with. But you will notice that the more expensive cables are usually longer.
     
  6. -G-

    -G- WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Kind of,

    It is NON compatible with NTSC 480P/720P or 480i progressive scanning simply because its a european tv.

    BUT

    It's input signal accomodates both 1080i (HD) 720P(HD) and 480P / 480i (SD) on both NTSC & PAL formats.

    It has component terminals (Y/Pb/Pr) and HDMI, I know that 480 isn't strictly HD but i'm hoping it will work. The gamecube left a bad taste in my mouth last time round as only the Septic Tanks got 480p/i gaming
     
  7. xbandaidx

    xbandaidx WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 4857-5695-0490-5844
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Because I know that PAL TV has a different number of lines, thats the only thing that concerns me. I guess you'll just have to find out. However if the TV states it can support it, I guess it can
     
  8. -G-

    -G- WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    We'll see anyway, the GF bought me the Wii for Xmas... (Well, I did, she's giving me the money for it tomorrow;) ) I'm just buying as much crap to go with it as I can :D

    Pity the Wii wasn't released in Black, would have went with my Ds Lite a treat...

    Ah well, mustn't grumble...
     
  9. Kuma

    Kuma Nino-wii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Wii Friend Code: 0888-3475-6097-0013
    0888-3475-6097-0013
    I can't find component cables anywhere around here ( Venezuela, I had to import the console ) :(

    Had to play zelda using composite on my LCD TV. A shame.
     
  10. -G-

    -G- WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    100 Cool Points to you for having the coolest President EVER :smilewinkgrin:
     
  11. Kuma

    Kuma Nino-wii

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Wii Friend Code: 0888-3475-6097-0013
    0888-3475-6097-0013
    LOL. I'm soooo not going to respond anything to that :p
     
  12. Geckotek

    Geckotek WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 6557-4845-7665-3160
    6557-4845-7665-3160
    ROFLMAO.....can't figure out if -G- is serious or not.

    Let us know if you guys find more 3rd party cables available online. I may try BB and CC tomorrow just in case.
     
  13. StevenNevets

    StevenNevets WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    14
    You would find plenty of threads with the words "component cables" in there titles.


    The reason you didn't was because you're looking in the wrong forum.
     
  14. Xanthan

    Xanthan Hardcore Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Wii Friend Code: 6188-0435-3585-1038
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    I ordered mine from Nintendo store like Thursday, and on Friday I received a shipping email and a tracking number from UPS so anyone really looking to get some component cables shouldn't have too much problem now. Unless I'm the luckiest SOB with a Wii.
     
  15. xbandaidx

    xbandaidx WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 4857-5695-0490-5844
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    I believe its the 14th? that Nintendo said that Retailers will be having them as well.
     
  16. fanaticalmoose

    fanaticalmoose The one and only moo$e

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    nintendo's website is selling the component cables online, there $30.00... got some... i can't stand the regular cables......
     
  17. savoirvivre

    savoirvivre Wii Ninja!

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so my tv has a plug for component cables,

    Taht means its 480p? or does it actually have to specifically say it is 480p even though it is component ready? does it do 480i with component cable also?
     
  18. Xanthan

    Xanthan Hardcore Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Wii Friend Code: 6188-0435-3585-1038
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    yeah you can run 480i on component cables, but it kinda defeats the purpose. Only a marginal improvement over composite cables that way.
     
  19. Geckotek

    Geckotek WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Wii Friend Code: 6557-4845-7665-3160
    6557-4845-7665-3160
    ....so to answer the question then, having component cables does not necessarily mean your TV supports 480p.

    Just google your TV model and find the specs.
     
  20. Rajveer

    Rajveer WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've preordered official Nintendo Component cables from Game website. They release on the 15th so 3 days.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

wii 480i with component