Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wii HD

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by CHGN, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought some Asid Component cables for my Wii. I thought it'd be awesome, but my hopes were dashed when i plugged it in. There was no picture, just the sound when I switched the resolution to EDTV. I was all like "WTF!!!". Then when I read into the problem, I found out alot of people went through the same. Some said it was a hardware issue because it happened on certain TVs, others said it was software and an update would fix it. So, is it my Wii, my TV, my Wii software, or my cables that are the problem?
     
  2. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Are they the official cables? Some users have experienced this problem with 3rd party cables.
     
  3. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    3rd party, box reads : Asid Pro Hd wii component Cables. When i read the user reviews for the cables, they all said it was working great for them
     
  4. Skippy

    Skippy WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    18
    Does your TV support progressive scan?
     
  5. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not positive, but it should, its got the component plugs on the back
     
  6. Eddy04

    Eddy04 VAIZARD

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wii Friend Code: 5658-7022-3844-5521
    5658-7022-3844-5521
    That it has the component plug in the back doesn't mean it supports progressive scan.
     
  7. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then whats the point for the Component In on the TV? To view Regular quality with moreadvanced cables?
     
  8. iamone8

    iamone8 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I got the Nyko brand component cable for my wii. All i did was plugged it in and switched my tv to the right video input. Then i powered on the wii. Then i changed the resolution setting on my wii to edtv. Everything works fine.

    When is the screen going black on you? is it right after you changed the resolution on your wii to edtv?
     
  9. metalpose

    metalpose WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh..man

    i love my wii...but the check mii out channel sucks..any body know what is fun about this????
     
  10. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya, right after i switch the resolution. the weird part is that after i click TV/Video to get to the channel, it flashes the Wii menu (which is what its supposed to be, except black and white) then goes blue(on my TV it means no signal)
     
  11. Mariotard

    Mariotard WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your TV is older and has component inputs it may not be progressive scan. Nicer older models (pre-HDTV or EDTV) can have component inputs but may or may not offer 480p.

    That being said, even if you can't take advantage of 480p/EDTV resolutions component cables still offer an upgrade in visual quality, albeit small.

    Id trouble shoot the issue by hooking up the composite cables it came with and giving it a good look over paying particular attenton to how pixelated the overall image is. Then, hook up the component cables again and keep the setting on 480i. Get to the same screen (the channels menu works great) you viewed for pixelation and compare this new image with the component input being used. Generally, component cables offer less pixelation on all TVs, whether its HDTV or good ole' 480i.

    If you have a widescreen TV it should at least be 480p. If thats the case make sure the inputs are color matched properly (as stupid as it sounds when I got my component cables and hooked them up to the Wii I switched the green and blue inputs by accident because it was dark bhind my TV and both colors look similar in low light) and that they are in secure.

    If none of that works I would retrn them and get the official nintendo cables.
     
  12. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good idea, I'll go this Weekend. Just another $10
     
  13. bubs

    bubs WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    buy official nintendo cables you tight asses, problem solved.
     
  14. Skippy

    Skippy WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    18
    Third party cables work just fine. They're just wires, it's pretty hard to mess that up.
     
  15. Jay588

    Jay588 ?

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    NYC
    edtv....wasnt that a movie?

    anyway have you tried straightening out the wires and seeing if there were maybe a kink in the wire? i know it sounds stupid but it happens. it shouldnt be the wii, it is most definitely the wires
     
  16. CHGN

    CHGN WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya, it turned out to be my crappy tv
    feel like i got ripped off, it cost $500 and it's not even a flat screen or an edtv
    luckily, by big screen tv is HD so i guess ill just do HD stuff on that
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

wii hd