Wii on HDTV

WiiCampeon

WiiChat Member
Feb 17, 2009
Will my Wiis graphics look way better on an HDTV than one that doesnt?Will it be a huge difference or not so much?

I think the Wii is only up to 480p at its best, so if you have a 720/1080p tv its not going to look any better, IMO. Now if you had at PS3 running 1080p, then yes there would be a difference.

But Im not an expert so I could be wrong. . .

Sometimes the Wii looks worse on HDTV depending on how well the TV can upscale the Wii's signal.

Be sure to get the component cables though.

my TV does a great job upscaling the wii. COD W@W is awesome. i have a 32" LG LCD 720p

I think Wii will naturally benefit from any HDTV display and a set of componet cables. I use a Hitachi plasma and the Nintendo licenced componet cables. It is set at 480P and looks beautiful. My friend has a hdtv plasma with the composite cables hooked up. I can't stand it mine looks soooooooooooo much better.

you're just as good with a set of non-branded component cables than with the nintendo licensed ones. there is no difference

Well today I hooked my Wii up to my new Samsung a650 46" LCD HDTV 1080p 120hrz via generic component cable(previously hooked to a 15yr 27" tube tv).

I set both the TV and Wii to their optimum settings, the color is visibly better, but having enlarged the screen almost 2x(27" -> 46") it now shows the jaggedness/roughness of the Wii's graphics.

I think the Wii is only up to 480p at its best, so if you have a 720/1080p tv its not going to look any better, IMO. Now if you had at PS3 running 1080p, then yes there would be a difference.

But Im not an expert so I could be wrong. . .

Nope your correct not a Wii diffrence the tv resolution is just lighter then a old tv so no big diffrence that you can fix with adjusting contrast tint,ect

i already have a hdtv thanks The Conduit looks good.