Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wii w/ Computer LCD

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Atr3yu, May 4, 2007.

  1. Atr3yu

    Atr3yu WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey! First post! :)

    My TV died and I'm about to replace my computer monitor w/ a sick new samsung 22" LCD. I'm hoping there is a way for me to play the way on the monitor.

    I'm thinking ... a PCI TV Tuner? Would that work? It would need RCA in then, right? I've been looking at em on Newegg & TigerDirect but I'm not exactly sure what I would need.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks!
    Atr3yu
     
  2. rtr1900

    rtr1900 Wii or not to Wii

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    Wii Friend Code: 3085-1225-3534-6165
    3085-1225-3534-6165
  3. astrophysicist

    astrophysicist WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    #3 astrophysicist, May 4, 2007
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  4. Nemix

    Nemix Frost-bitten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes, TV turner from ATI would work. my Theatre 550 Pro has composite/s-video in), maybe the newer 650 Pro has component. Or you can just get a new video card that has video in (composite/s-video/component). with TV tuner you'll need software (Power Cinema), don't think you'll need software if it's a videocard with video in (i forget). Both ways you'll need speakers unless your LCD has built in speakers which could plug directly to your soundcard/tv tuner which ever is used...
     
    #4 Nemix, May 4, 2007
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  5. dchao

    dchao WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    The average PC monitor has a VGA input and maybe a DVI input. But the Wii has a component YPrPb output, so there is no match. To convert the Wii signal to compatible PC monitor signal requires a speciallized hardware (called the transcoder).

    Here is one (KDS ClearVideo3)

    This transcoder will convert the the YPrPb component signal from Wii to the VGA/RGB signal used by the monitor. (Note: VGA is just non-interlaced/progressive RGB). Retail price over $300 - however now discountinued.

    Review:
    http://www.audaud.com/audaud/JUN04/component/comp2.html

    it's available on eBay from time to time:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=150119382946
     
    #5 dchao, May 4, 2007
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  6. Nemix

    Nemix Frost-bitten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    2
    the above word work, without PC. i was gonna recommend that but thought the price didn't go down yet, was gonna buy that for my now sold XBox.
     
  7. David328ci

    David328ci WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Kind of makes me wonder why there isn't a vga cable for Wii because there is for Xbo 360.
     
  8. Wii-licious

    Wii-licious Wii360 FTW !!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 1111-1111-1111-1111
    1111-1111-1111-1111
    you can always buy a LCD TV with a VGA input....:ee5k:

    but it will limit the resolution for your computer to 1360*768(xvga) or 1024*768 (vga) depend on the tv you choose !?! :eek:ut:

    PLUS !!!! IT WILL MORE EXPENSIVE TO BUY (WAY MORE EXPENSIVE THEN A LCD MONITOR) LOL :mad2:
     
    #8 Wii-licious, May 4, 2007
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  9. dchao

    dchao WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Acutally there is. It's available for the European market, the PAL version Wii. So I am assuming the hardware is capable of producing the RGB component signals to feed your VGA cable. To enable it on an US NTSC Wii, you probably need some internal hacks.

    Official PAL RGB SCART cable:
    http://nfggames.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=2363&st=320&#entry16842
     
    #9 dchao, May 4, 2007
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  10. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Except that the sync is on the green channel of the scart connector and most vga monitors dont support this. Look at the efforts to get a vga signal out of classic game consoles and you will see how many of the attempts failed.


    ATR3YU: Try to get an Audio Authority 9A65
     
  11. David328ci

    David328ci WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cracking open my Wii is not an option. I think I"ll stick with playing my Wii on a hdtv with component cables. I really don't understand why Nintendo made it so diifficult to use a vga cable with the Wii. :prrr:
     
  12. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
  13. dchao

    dchao WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I like that unit and the price, the only thing missing is the 480I. I don't know if that is important for Wii/GC games, since some of the games are not progressive scan compatible. I assume with such games, the Wii/GC will switch to 480I, and that box will can not convert it. Just my 2 cents.
     
  14. astrophysicist

    astrophysicist WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's right. If it's not progressive, it won't convert. I like that KWORLD thing mainly because of it's versatility in that regard (480i all the way up to 1080i).
     

Share This Page