Wireless Router-NEED your help!!

aim4332

WiiChat Member
Feb 6, 2011
iowa
First of all i'm new to any gaming system. Bought a Wii for my grandson so he can play it when he visits. I can hook it up to my LCD tv with no problem. I want to take it 1 step further and hook it up so I can sign up and use the Netflix option. First of all my Wii and desktop PC are about 6 ft. apart. I want to go wireless if possible.

I can hook up the wireless router with no problem but my question is what I have to do with the Wii. On the back of the Wii there are 2 USB ports. Do I have to buy some device that plug's into one of the USB ports in order for the Wii to be hooked up to the wireless router? From what I have read so far at other places is yes you do or no you don't. This is where it gets confusing for me. Just read an article last night where it says you don't need to buy anything for the USB port because it's already built into the Wii console.

Next question has to do with the router. What wireless router would you say is the one that works best for the Wii? When I start reading about routers and it says you need a 802.11GB or a WPA2-PSK type of router thats where I get lost. I live in a town where they have Walmarts,Targets,Staples,etc.. So there are my 2 questions. I do appreciate your feedback. Many Thanks.

a wireless connection on wii has nothing to do with usb ports, but you could put a wire through it with an adapter. right router? a tough question, good luck my friend......

Check out Nintendo.com or call Nintendo directly. Their customer support is usually very helpful.

The Wii has built-in wireless, so no other hardware is necessary.

As for a router, I believe the customer support area of Nintendo.com has a list of known compatible routers.

The Wii manual explains how to set up the Wii's built-in wi-fi so that it can connect to your existing wireless router.