Wireless router setup/options. Help needed

Pelts

Wii-Beastie
Dec 17, 2006
Wii Online Code
8178-0597-2418-9681
Ok, I am completely new to this forum because I have recently bought a wii like so many other people and am searching for questions. I am not very good with electronics so I was hoping some people could help me out with their knowledge. I have read several threads and stickies, but my ignorance on wireless routers have left me with very simple questions which I can't find the answers to. I know people are sick of seeing these topics, but I would really appreciate all the help than anyone could give me on these questions on basic router setup and compatibility with the wii:

1.) I have two computers and of course the wii. If I buy a wirless router, do i have to buy seperate chips for the computers? for 1 or both of the computers?

2.) Both my computers are pc's with windows xp. On the nintendo website with the lists of compatible wireless routers, I often see versions after the initial name of the router. ex - "Linksys WRT54G ver 3" When I look at websites like amazon for product info., they don't show anything about different versions ( I assume they are simply the newest ones). Are the versions crucial to the compatiblilty with the wii?

3.) I currently have two seperate dsl modems with ethernet cables so I can access internet on both the computers. The dsl modems are of different companies though. Will this cause problems if a wireless router of different brand is bought? and furthermore, should any wireless router be compatible with the computers themselves?

4.) In my house, both my computers are on the second story on the right portion of the house. My room and tv are on the first floor on the opposite side of the house (about 50 ft. away and 2-3 walls inbetween). Will any decent wireless router easily reach the wii (different ground levels)?