Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Yay! Got my Wii!! Got a Question

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by Willie Q., Nov 19, 2006.

  1. Willie Q.

    Willie Q. "Metal Gear?!"

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Wii Friend Code: 6786-1824-5833-4791
    6786-1824-5833-4791
    Wooohooo I got my Wii today and a copy of twight light princes! :ihih: I have a question how can I conect to the internet? I tried with my modem trew the usb on the back of the Wii, but got and error messege. How u guys are making it work?
     
  2. Wiiboy93

    Wiiboy93 Proud Wii Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chatsworth,CA
    Wii Friend Code: 7776-3616-3352-5689
    7776-3616-3352-5689
    do you have a wireless router??
     
  3. Willie Q.

    Willie Q. "Metal Gear?!"

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Wii Friend Code: 6786-1824-5833-4791
    6786-1824-5833-4791
    Yeah, but I don't have the nintendo Wi Fi usb Thing
     
  4. santascow

    santascow WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem with me. Don't know why, anyone want to tell me where I can find my SSID for my router though?
     
  5. dalinkwent817

    dalinkwent817 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendale Heights, IL
    Wii Friend Code: 2702-5245-6693-3013
    2702-5245-6693-3013
    I think the Wii has built in Wi-fi capability. I set up my internet connection right out of the box, and it's working perfectly fine. I even updated the system before anything else.
    ;)
    At least I think that's the case for stateside systems (I'm from Illinois).
     
  6. santascow

    santascow WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0

    How'd you set it up? Settings - Internet - New Connection, Search for Access Point? I need help on this
     
  7. dalinkwent817

    dalinkwent817 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendale Heights, IL
    Wii Friend Code: 2702-5245-6693-3013
    2702-5245-6693-3013
    I'll try to help you as much as possible. I don't have the system with me at the moment, my girlfriend stole it. :lol:

    I searched for an access point. It then recognized my network connection at home. I selected that one, and changed the settings such as password and security type (WPA/WEP) according to the settings on your router. Of course, either you or whoever is in charge of your network would need to know this information.

    I hope this helps, let me know.

    PS. I didn't need to know the SSID of my network connection. The only information I entered was regarding the network password and security type.
     
  8. registerednerd

    registerednerd Wii online moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    If you don't know your SSID, chances are the settings on the router havn't been changed and simply choosing "Search for Access Point" will do. If you are using a 2wire modem, the WEP key is under the serial number barcode on the bottom.
     

Share This Page