Yeah, I'm old... So what?

Austruck

Member-Mom
Jul 8, 2011
western Pennsylvania
Wii Online Code
5683-2796-5293-7388
Howdy... Not new to the online world (been online since 1987), but new to console gaming. My firstborn (now age 27) has owned every Nintendo console ever made, and I finally just broke down last week and got myself a Wii. (I can't use his since he's married and doesn't live here, harrumph!)

It's been only a few days but I love it so far. It came with Mario Kart and I've since bought Wii Sports. Other friends are insisting I buy Animal Crossings, and I've also downloaded Zelda: Ocaria of Time from the VC store (am waiting for the classic controller to arrive from Amazon so I can play that one).

I'm a 50-yr-old mother of four, a writer and proofreader by trade, and I must be having my own little midlife crisis since hitting 50 two months ago. Bought myself a ukulele and now a Wii. Today I bought a new vacuum cleaner, but I don't think that counts since it didn't come with a remote control and apparently I'm supposed to stand behind it and PUSH it or something.... :wink:

I have a feeling I'll have a ton of questions that will make you experts feel important and helpful by answering them (since they'll be obvious to you even if they're impossible for me). Besides, my poor son will get tired of all my emailed questions very quickly... so it's time to share the love!

Right now I'm trying to figure out why the whole Mii Channel thing is important. I suppose it seems stupid when you're new and don't have any Mii friends yet....

Anyway, glad to be here!

Welcome to the forums, Austruck. I can happily assure you all your questions regarding the Wii will be intelligently answered. =) ... Well, for the most part anyways.