Japanese Wii Virtual Console in UK

Tremor

WiiChat Member
May 9, 2007
Greetings all. My apologies if this post if in the wrong section (I wasn't sure if Virtual Console connectivity questions should come under the VC section or Hardware issues...) Also, I'm sure this question has been asked and answered elsewhere, but I couldn't come up with anything quickly after searching. One post did mention that a Japanese Wii could connect to the Internet outside of Japan (I think the country was South Korea).

I am considering buying a Japanese Wii because I want to have access to the Virtual Console games unreleased in Western countries. I am studying Japanese and whatnot, so language issues within the games are less of a problem, though playing English games will be something I'll have to address later.

My question is, has anybody had first-hand experience or can say for sure that a Japanese Wii can connect to and download games from the Virtual Console from the U.K (outside Asia). I realise purchasing Wii points by credit card with be another problem, but I have read that you can now buy prepaid cards online to get around this problem... Is this the case?

Also, anybody else who owns a Japanese Wii and uses it abroad (especially Europe, where voltage differences need to be addressed), any advice about transformers (etc) will be appreciated ^_^

Thanks in advance!

i saw a youtube video of some people buying and playing wii vc games from different regions...

it involved changing your settings of what country you were in, then having to run an update, then play what you like :smilewinkgrin:

(iirc that is.... gimme a sec and i'll see if i can find it for you)

EDIT - ok, found what i was looking for, but unfortunately it sounds like it wont work for you.... something about japanese wiis not having the option to change country..

have a look anyway, sorry if its teasing

Last edited:
Thanks for your help.