Wiimote D-Pad Navigation

RKCole

The Digital Knight
Nov 26, 2010
Modesto, CA
Wii Online Code
0000-0000-0000-0000
Hello, everyone.

I would first like to note that this may be a "strange" question considering the circumstances. :)

My wife surprised me with a Nintendo Wii today as a Thanksgiving/early Christmas gift. It has been wonderful thus far; it has actually helped my wife and I to bond, and I am very grateful for that.

Here is my question: I am a partially blind user (yes, blind people play video games, too! :) ). I tried to navigate the Wii menus using the pointer functionailty of the Wiimote, but in order for me to do some things in gaming, I must be close to the TV. Being so close to the TV to start a game ro navigate to different areas fo the Wii dashboard does not seem to work using the pointer method, as my proximity to the TV seems to be too close for the sensor bar (I hope that my terminology is correct; I'm sorry, I am completely new to the Wii). is there any way at all to navigate the Wii menus using the D-Pad rather than the pointing method? if there is, wonderful! If not, I'll figure out another workaround. I'm not going to let something like this discourage me.

Any help and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

As mentioned before, I know this is an odd question. I have played video games for many years, and I really enjoy them despite the fact that things take me longer because of my poor vision.

Thanks for any help.

Take care.

You can't use other method except certain games (as I know Monster Hunter Tri and etc.) Try to put the sensor bar on the top of your TV. I put it there and there is no problem. That is true, sometimes you must get close to the TV, but at all, Wii is a good console. Try it up!