Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Second Wii remote as master

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by pauldbentley, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. pauldbentley

    pauldbentley WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I have been searching round for an answer to this but have not found anything so sorry if it has been posted but it is driving me wild!

    I have left my main Wii remote (ie the one that came with the console pre-sync'd) at a friends house and I'm not going to be able to get it back for a few weeks, I thought this wouldnt be a problem as I have a second remote.

    My problem is this:

    I have sync'd the second remote correctly; I can turn the console on and off with the remote, bring up the home menu, use the +/- to move left and right on the home menu, and the 1st blue light is on (meaning player 1 i think) but I am not getting a hand cursor and therefore cannot pick a game to play! arg!

    Does anyone know how I can get the hand cursor on the main screen with a Wii remote that is not the master? I have checked the sensor bar and the LEDs are on. I know everything is working ok as we were using both remotes fine a couple of days ago on my console.

    Many thanks

    Paul
     
  2. Stranger

    Stranger WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    27
    hmm, thats odd, i had this same, problem, is your sensor bar working correctly? if its not that then try replacing the batteries in your wiimote, those are my only ideas. hope they work for you
     
  3. pauldbentley

    pauldbentley WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the sensor bar is working correctly, in that I was using both remotes fine a couple of days ago. The batteries did run out on the remote but I have replaced them and they are showing up as full strength.

    You said you had the same problem, have you managed to solve it?
     
  4. Stranger

    Stranger WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    27
    all i did ws replace the batteries and re sync the controller i needed as player one
     
  5. pauldbentley

    pauldbentley WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thinking about it, I dont recal ever seeing the hand cusor on this controller even when we did have the original controller, like when picking the 2nd player for tennis, could this be a problem with the controller? the games play fine tho...
     
  6. Stranger

    Stranger WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    27
    hmmm, im not sure, good point
     
  7. t121anf

    t121anf WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    shouldnt make any difference.

    i thought mine main wiimote was broke, turned off wii, turned on with wiimote from wii play and hey presto its remote 1 on the wii, turned off and returned to the main wiimote when i realised i was at fault.

    if yours cant do this you mustnt have synced it right or you have a faulty wii/wiimote etc
     
  8. Xasf

    Xasf WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's odd, you should be seeing another hand icon on the screen when the secondary controller is active (and pointed towards to screen).

    It may indicate a fault with your Wiimote's optical sensor, which will cause something just like this. You wouldn't know the difference in Wii Sports because it's played using accelerometers, I think none of the games within utilize the pointer functionality.
     
  9. pauldbentley

    pauldbentley WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah sounds to me like a fautly remote, I thought that being able to play tennis meant that it was working. Time to take it back to the shop... I'll let you know if it works! Thanks everyone
     
  10. pauldbentley

    pauldbentley WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tooks the remote back and got a replacement which works fine! Thanks for everyones help!

    Paul
     
  11. Wiitendo

    Wiitendo Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mushroom kingdom :P
    Not sure, but what i noticed is that if you pause with home, click on wiimote settings and say reconnect, it says press 1 and 2 in the order that you would like to sync. I suggest buying a new wiimote, or borwing someone eles's. :thumbsup: hope it helps!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
change master wiimote
,

change wii master remote

,

how to change master wii remote

,

how to change wii master remote

,
how to change wii remote to player 1
,
how to make a wii remote the master
,
how to make the second wii remote as master
,

how to make wii remote number 1

,
making the second wii remote number one
,

wii master remote