Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Hey guys I need your help Part 3

Discussion in 'Xbox Consoles' started by Mikeo22, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i have another question about live lol, so i have an old pc but it has no modem and i already have a wireless router. so if i put the pc and the router in my room. Can i setup live or do i need to connect the router to a modem. Or can i just go ahead and plug my router straight into my pc for a live connection? so basically would i need a modem or do i already have enough stuff.
     
  2. T3kNi9e

    T3kNi9e Conquistador

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Everyone who has broadband should already have a modem. So im assuming you have DSL/Cable?

    You need to connect your modem to the router and the router to the 360. Since you have a wireless router im guessing you have a wireless adapter on your 360? If so thats all you need to do to set it up. If if you dont have the wireless adapter you still need to connect your 360 to the router.

    You also do not need a PC to connect to live, just a modem, router, or both.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me set this straight i have two pc's one downstairs with a modem and a wireless router. I have another pc with no modem that i put in my room which is upstairs. Because i dont want to play live downstairs by my computer with a crappy tv. So my question do i need to by another modem for my room pc? or i can just somehow connect the router to the computer then to 360. And no i dont have a wireless adaptor thats why im putting an old pc in my room so i dont have to buy the wireless adaptor
     
    #3 Mikeo22, Feb 6, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
  4. T3kNi9e

    T3kNi9e Conquistador

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Okay, I get it now.

    You cannot connect your 360 to your PC, then your PC to your router because there's only 1 slot to plug in the ethernet cord.

    So you have to connect your 360 directly into your PC and your PC needs to have wireless connection to reach your router. If your PC does not have a wireless connection, then your setup wont work and you're either going to have to move your Xbox Down stairs, connect your Xbox/PC to the router with a long ethernet cord, or just buy the wireless adapter.
     
  5. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    or couldnt i just buy another modem for my upstairs pc?
     
  6. T3kNi9e

    T3kNi9e Conquistador

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    You mean a router? I don't think you can use 2 modems at once unless you pay your internet company more. But if you get another wireless router, then I think you can connect your Xbox into the router easily and get a wireless connection from the Xbox to the router that has the modem plugged into it...
    Did that make sense?

    But anyway, why buy another router? Aren't they somewhat expensive? I haven't bought a router or looked at its prices in a while, but wouldnt the wireless adapter be cheaper?
     
  7. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm no lol the wireless adaptor is 100 and routers can go for 40-50 lol so if i buy another router, will that work?
     
  8. T3kNi9e

    T3kNi9e Conquistador

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Oh, wow its cheap now days :p

    Well, yea it should work. Im pretty sure if you buy a wireless router and connect a short ethernet cord to it then it would be kind of like having the wireless adaptor. It should pick up a signal from your other router.
     
  9. Mikeo22

    Mikeo22 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh k great now i get it
     

Share This Page