Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Super Mario 64- Only Classic Controller?

Discussion in 'Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare' started by tophermike, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. tophermike

    tophermike WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St Louis
    Wii Friend Code: 8081-3411-2067-9933
    8081-3411-2067-9933
    Hey guys, I just downloaded Mario 64 and even though the "purchase" screen showed icons for both the classic controller and the gamecube controller, when I went to play it told me I must purchase the classic controller to play this game. Did anyone else notice this or am I doing something wrong? I don't want to go buy a classic controller when my Wavebird is sitting right here.

    The weird thing is that it tells me to either plug the clasic controller into the Wiimote or press A to go back to the Menu. When I press A with the Wavebird controller, it goes back to the menu but none of the other buttons work. So it's obviously recognizing my Wavebird controller.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Arcadium

    Arcadium Not Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Colombia
    Wii Friend Code: 6980-3796-3948-8393
    6980-3796-3948-8393
    :lol:

    Maybe you must configure the game for it to be used with the wavebird, so I actually don't know.
     
  3. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    i dont know about the wavebirds but it does work with normal GC controllers. try changing the channels on the wavebird. that might make it work.
     
  4. Arcadium

    Arcadium Not Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Colombia
    Wii Friend Code: 6980-3796-3948-8393
    6980-3796-3948-8393
    Wavebirds work aswell with the wii, they don't make any problem
     
  5. tophermike

    tophermike WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St Louis
    Wii Friend Code: 8081-3411-2067-9933
    8081-3411-2067-9933
    Thanks for the input. I should've been more thorough with reading other threads. Someone mentiond somewhere else to be sure you are in port 1 and not port 4- that was my problem. Port one is near the front of the Wii and I was in the port near the memory card.

    OK- I'm off to get 120 Stars!
     
  6. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    i know they work but mario 64 has some trouble with GC controllers and the fix is to keep changing controller ports untill it works but since the wavebird doesnt need to be pluged in because of the built in support, i suggested changing the channels on it to see if that would work
     
  7. JoeTheZombie

    JoeTheZombie WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Idaho
    Well you still have to plug the wavebird receiver in. There is no built in support. I use a wavebird with Mario64 and haven't experienced any problems ever.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can you play super mario 64 on wii with a classic controller
,
can you play super mario 64 with wii remote
,
controller needed for super mario 64 on wii
,
how to play mario on the wii without classic controller
,
mario 64 on wii controller
,
mario 64 wii classic controller
,
super mario 64 for wii controller
,
super mario 64 wii classic controller
,

super mario 64 wii without classic controller

,

wii classic controller mario 64