I'm new to consoles, why no game backups?

austinAlan

WiiChat Member
Aug 30, 2007
I can't believe that I have this flimsy DVD as my only copy of an expensive game. Please catch me up on why we're being screwed or can I make a copy and play it without mod chipping the console? Will game companies send a free new copy of a game if you send them a broken disk say a year or so after purchase?

He's talking about the original game media NOT saved games.

DVD's are reasonably robust - I've never had an original DVD (movie or game disc) go bad. They're not fragile (buy a blank and try to snap it in half), just prone to surface scratches if they're left out and tossed around (and even then, the error correction system in most readers can handle a fair amount of scuffs).

I agree that $50-60 isn't chump change - so I'd be diligent to return games to their cases after playing to keep them mint!

FWIW, Gamecube games has explicit notice in the package that "Backup or duplication even for archive was not permitted by law" (something to that effect). I believe they had a media replacement warranty for like 12 months.

~DT

[DT] said:
He's talking about the original game media NOT saved games.

DVD's are reasonably robust - I've never had an original DVD (movie or game disc) go bad. They're not fragile (buy a blank and try to snap it in half), just prone to surface scratches if they're left out and tossed around (and even then, the error correction system in most readers can handle a fair amount of scuffs).

I agree that $50-60 isn't chump change - so I'd be diligent to return games to their cases after playing to keep them mint!

FWIW, Gamecube games has explicit notice in the package that "Backup or duplication even for archive was not permitted by law" (something to that effect). I believe they had a media replacement warranty for like 12 months.

~DT

Well you're probably right that they will last as long as I want to play them. I'll chill out.