Classic Mario Games?

bulls6pack

WiiChat Member
Dec 8, 2009
Peoria, IL.
Im new to the Nintendo Wii, and to these forums. I have a quick question, and if it's been asked before I apologize in advance. Is there a Wii game out there, with the classic Mario games on it? Mario 1, 2, 3, World, and 64? If there isnt, is the DS and SP the only routes to go, other than the vintage consoles? Thank you for any responses.

There are older Mario games on the Virtual Console.
You need your Wii to have on-line gubbins (and Wiipoints)to down load them
Its all in the Wii shop

Thank you for the reply. Can you explain these things to me, Im still new to the wii world. What are virtual console, online gubbins, and wii points? Last question is do you know if you can get all 5 Mario games (Mario 1,2,3, Mario World, & Mario 64)on this virtual console? Thanks!

by 'online gubbins' he means you need a working internet connection.

go to the "Wii Shop Channel" on the main menu.
from there you pick "Virtual Console" or "Wiiware"
pick the VC and scroll through the games. from there you just pick a game and download it.

as for Wii Points, thats the Shop Channel currency. 1 point translates to 1 american dollar. you either get points via credit card or by purchasing pre-paid points cards at stores.

NES
Mario 1 costs 500 points
2 costs 600
3 costs either 600 or 800 (can't remember)
SNES
Super Mario World costs 800
N64
Mario 64 costs 1000

so thats roughly 35-40$ right there. also to play any VC game NOT on the NES requires a Gamecube or Classic Controller (which both cost around 20$)

by 'online gubbins' he means you need a working internet connection.
Yeah that
go to the "Wii Shop Channel" on the main menu.
from there you pick "Virtual Console" or "Wiiware"
pick the VC and scroll through the games. from there you just pick a game and download it.

Should be pointed out that you can buy Wiiponts on the Wii