Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

do i need arouter?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by pwk11, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. pwk11

    pwk11 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am connecting my wii with a airlink1o1 directly to my comcast Arliss modem. will not work. Do i need a router? thx
     
  2. X@vier

    X@vier WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Wii Friend Code: 0754-8677-9558-2705
    0754-8677-9558-2705
    what's an airlink101? router, wireless cart, antenna?

    ~X
     
  3. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Airlink101 is a brand. You need to tell us just what it is you have. Model #?
     
  4. kdewey21

    kdewey21 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay im just describing the situation here so no one wastes time asking questions. i have a wire iinternet connection upstairs on my regular computer. nothing in the basement with the wii. what do i need to play wireless wii?
     
  5. nxcmp

    nxcmp Tech Support

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    As the others have said, what kind of connection are you trying to make, please be more specific... this USB to Ethernet works perfectly with the Wii Console, if you are going wired that is.
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    1) A wireless router

    and

    2a) Time and effort to read the manual and learn to set it up

    or

    2b) A friend or family member who is technically-adept

    or

    2c) Money to hire someone to set it up for you

    It is not "plug and play". You will need some skills to configure things and make it work.
     
  7. nxcmp

    nxcmp Tech Support

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Networking ain't easy :p, you could say this isn't a half-a** slap things together DIY
     
  8. kdewey21

    kdewey21 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am very smart with computers and definately know what i am doing but i am not familiar with wireless internet although i am positive i can figure it out. with that item you gave a link to, do i just plug it into the USB on the wii and then it works? also how much do wireless routers cost?
     
  9. nxcmp

    nxcmp Tech Support

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000

    The USB Lan Adapter, yep I use it you plug it in the back, wait a second, the power light will come on, for the adapter, then plug a live Ethernet cable into it and LAN lights up. All you have to do is go into wii settings now and tell it you want the "wired" connection option, all thats left is to just enter your network information unless you use DHCP :)
     
  10. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
  11. pwk11

    pwk11 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I gave all that info in another post and noone answered. So I asked a simpler question. I will repeat my initial post..
    I am connecting from my wii to an airlink101 usb lan connector,and connecting directly to an arliss modem model nunberTM502G. I am using cable 6 ethernet cable. Cable 5 didnt work either. I was asking this question because I thought it had to due with DHCP. And that I may not be able to connect directly
    Both lights on the lan adapter light{one blinks the other doesnt}. And it will not connect. thx
     
    #11 pwk11, Jan 26, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008
  12. link1305

    link1305 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 8485-7928-2230-8792
    8485-7928-2230-8792
    If you're connecting directly to the modem then you most likely have to use DHCP. I assume you've tried rebooting the modem (unplugging power, wait a minute, plug it back in) while its connected to the wii USB adapter?

    I would really think about getting a router instead of connecting to the modem, if only for convenience (so you don't have to unplug it and plug it back in to your computer to use the internet) and protection (from the router's built in firewall).
     
  13. pwk11

    pwk11 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your reply. I may try the router,I would just rather not use one unless I have to. Setting them up for online games ect has proven problematic. Maxing out router bandwidth and the router disconnects and I lose games,ect.
    I am pretty sure I did the unplug thing . I will try again. Paul
     
  14. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Never heard of such a thing. A router is going support 100Mbit internal LAN connections. Are you telling me you have a 100+Mbit connection to the internet ?
     
  15. link1305

    link1305 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 8485-7928-2230-8792
    8485-7928-2230-8792
    I would say the vast majority of PC gamers online do use routers, so you should be fine...
     
  16. pwk11

    pwk11 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    to sremick We had 3 people gaming in the house at one time. I seemed that was the problem,but I could be wrong. All I know is when only 1 or 2 of us were gaming it didnt happen. We had a fast cable. But now it is just me.
    I had read online in a few forums that some routers max out and shut off. It could have been bull though.
     
  17. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    You could easily max out your internet connection, but between your internet connection and your router's bandwidth, it's your internet connection that is the bottleneck.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

arliss modem

,

arliss modem comcast wireless