Halo 3 and True Skills ranking question !?

Wii-licious

Wii360 FTW !!!!!
Jan 10, 2007
Canada
Wii Online Code
1111-1111-1111-1111
First, i'm a beginner at Halo 3 and i never own any Halo game before so my question can seems stupid.

Second, I already google this and i find nothing so don't flame me!!

Question: How do we exactly getting higher skills. For example i play around the same number of games as my friend and we both are about the same military ranking level but our true skills are very different.

i only find this:

'mma Go and Git Sum Rankz

Let’s talk about Ranking, EXP and Matchmaking in Halo 3.

First, your “Rank” in Halo 3 is the numerical value near your name. You’ll have a different number in each ranked playlist (social playlists don’t have a rank associated with them) and those numbers serve two purposes. First, and most important that number is our system’s assessment of your skill level relative to the Halo 3 player base. The higher the rank, the better the system thinks that you are. The second part of the “rank” is Service Record component, certain numerical ranks are required to reach different military advancement, General for level 50, et cetera.

Your rank and advancement through the ranking system isn’t a linear experience. There isn’t a “if I win 8 games in a row, I should go up X ranks.” Behind the scenes, we’re calculating all manner of information about your play style, skill, foes and party mates. Because the “leveling curve” isn’t a straight line, someone might get to level 30 in Team Slayer in 50 games, or someone might take a year to reach level 30 in Team Slayer. There’s no hard and fast rule to gaining rank aside from winning games, but even then, there’s no rule as to how fast you’ll advance. The system is infinitely more complicated than just a number being displayed in your profile.