Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Having BIG Problems

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by redhotrikk, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. redhotrikk

    redhotrikk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, here we go, I bought the Wii/DS wi-fi USB dongle and tried to install it, let me tell you what happened.....

    Right, I am connected to the internet via a Broadband connection supplied by what was Blueyonder, now Virgin media, this connection runs into my PC Via the Ethernet Cable that is linked to my Broadband Modem.......

    right, here is what happens.....

    1. I start up the software to install my Wi-Fi dongle with the dongle not yet connected, it says it is installing the drivers and then asks me to plug in the dongle, this, I do.......

    after about 20 seconds of slowly going up the completion bar (where it says "setting up connection sharing" )it comes up with an error message telling me to insert the USB wi-fi dongle...... whether I take it out and put it back in or just click okay, it gives me an application error.....

    Let me see if I can get some screen shots... (there should be some below now as I am typing)

    if anyone can help me please this would be a great help :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bonodo

    bonodo Wicked Hot Lush Lips

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    runcorn, uk
    Wii Friend Code: 1262-1897-0166-8568
    1262-1897-0166-8568
    it may be virgin media, i was on NTL (now virgin media) and thay are verry bad to work with

    EDIT: ok so i actually read your post and i honestly don't have a clue, try replacing it
     
    #2 bonodo, Jul 21, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2007
  3. redhotrikk

    redhotrikk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    thing is that it isn't picking up the dongle, if you look at the pics....

    says I need to plug it in when it is already plugged in so it must be a fault with the software (which I have used from manufacturers disc AND downloaded from Nintendo) or it is the dongle itself, unless there is something I don't know
     
  4. bonodo

    bonodo Wicked Hot Lush Lips

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    runcorn, uk
    Wii Friend Code: 1262-1897-0166-8568
    1262-1897-0166-8568
    well the screenshots just appear as s load of random letters to me so i couldnnt see 'em, but try checking weather the USB ports aren't too loose (sometimes USB devices can slip a bit and unplug)
     
  5. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Maybe the USB port on your PC is screwed. Have you tried plugging it in a different port?
     
  6. redhotrikk

    redhotrikk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    have tried using all 6 USB ports on my computer and nothing, I am guessing either the dongle is screwed or the software is bollocksed lol
     
  7. redhotrikk

    redhotrikk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    For all those who can't get into those attachments, here are some more

    -THIS IS THE PROGRAM WORKING-

    [​IMG]

    -THEN THIS HAPPENS-

    [​IMG]

    -WHETHER I CLICK OKAY OR DISCONNECT AND RECONNECT, I GET THIS-

    [​IMG]
     
  8. WiiBad

    WiiBad Member of Wiichat

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    United States
    I would take it back and get a LAN adapter and go with a wired connection, this is much easier. Or maybe get a router for a little more and go wireless with everything. With only a LAN adapter you will have to disconnect your PC every time and unplug your modem as well to reset its applications, so the router is really the way to go. Sorry if this isn't what you wanna hear, but the Wifi dongle seems like a bust to me.
     
  9. redhotrikk

    redhotrikk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, this is the most helpful advise I've had from anyone so thanks, I will go for that option, I wanted to go wireless anyway truth be told :)
     

Share This Page