Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

hdmi cable for wii!!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by wiijunkie, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. wiijunkie

    wiijunkie WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    okay not really, but yeah....kind of? I just bought a denon avr 887 reciever (badass) One of it's features is video upconverting. It takes every input from dvd players, cable boxes, and yes the Wii from s video and component and upgrades them to hdmi out. You of course need to buy the cable but it doesn't need to be made for the Wii. I was excited and wanted to let someone know!
     
  2. mk_south_london

    mk_south_london !SUPERMOD! *blu mushroom*

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    uk
    Wii Friend Code: 7195-7874-4951-1917
    7195-7874-4951-1917
    ok, so wot..does this thing make 720p?
     
  3. wiijunkie

    wiijunkie WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    just wanted the best connection I could get. My tv says that it is coming in at 1080i but I think thats because I'm using the hdmi cable
     
  4. GreenEnvy

    GreenEnvy WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    the best connection you'll get for the Wii is using the component cables directly for 480p.
    Anything else is inferior for the Wii. Having a device upscale loses quality in the process, sticking it onto an HDMI cable does nothing to improve quality.
     
  5. krenshaw

    krenshaw old skool

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, all that lets you do is just make it so only one cable is needed to connect into you tv.. i have the same thing with components from my receiver.. though it is nice because the same channel is used for all video inputs
     
  6. GaryT85

    GaryT85 Super Gario

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Langley, Berks
    out of interest, can you set the box to give out the actual resolution?

    so set it to keep putting wii out at 480p? whilst switching to xbox would go to 720p/1080i if you wanted?

    i got a component switchbox, and was looking for something of a higher quality, i was in a rush so got a fairly cheap thing on ebay..
     
  7. Jorge

    Jorge Television Consultant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wii Friend Code: 0554-7647-3242-2709
    0554-7647-3242-2709
    Component cables straight to the television are going to give you the best picture. Don't waste money trying to use HDMI cables or external upconverters.
     
  8. Wiiaretheworld

    Wiiaretheworld Wii Power User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    If you want 1080, get an XBOX 360 or a PS3.
     
  9. GaryT85

    GaryT85 Super Gario

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Langley, Berks
    i dont think anyone is going to buy a new game system just because they 'want 1080'

    (unless its the n64.......bad joke i know)

    anyway i have an xbox 360, and i know a direct connection will always be the most reliable. thing is, i only have one component input on my tv, thats why i was asking about this thing
     
  10. invisible21

    invisible21 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    You kind of answered the question yourself...the receiver is just 'upconverting'...basically doubling the number of lines going to your tv by repeating the information on the previous line. This may smooth out some jagged edges but the Wii still won't be outputting in 480p, the option isn't even available unless you are using component cables. If you're really worried about not having enough inputs, they sell dedicated game system switchers for $100-$200 depending on the number/type of inputs you need.

    Basically, upconverting anything is like 'faking' the higher resolution...if you already bought the receiver, your best bet is to buy a set of Wii component cables and hook it into one of the component inputs of your receiver. That way the Wii is outputting in it's highest resolution AND upconverting...the best of both worlds!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

16' hdmi cable for wii

,

connecting the wii to a denon avr 887

,

do i need hdmi cables for wii guitar hero

,

hdmi cable for guitar hero on wii

,

hdmi connection for wii

,

hmi cable for wii guitar hero

,

nintendo inputs to hdmi cable

,

which is better for playing guitar hero on wii hdmi cable or component

,

wii upconverting hdmi jaggies