Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

INTERNET TROUBLE!!!!!!!!! plz help!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by alec, Feb 8, 2007.

  1. alec

    alec WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, I just recently tried to get a successful WIRED connection to my wii, here are my hardware stats:

    Datel's Wii LAN Adapter
    Comcast cable modem

    i have comcast cable and comcast cable highspeed internet.
    my wii is in another room from my computer.
    I thought i hooked everything up correctly...

    While the wii was off, i plugged the modem up, hooked up the cable to it, ran a ethernet cord from the modem to the LAN adapter which i plugged into an open usb slot on the wii...

    When i turned the wii on, the LAN adapter light blinked then went steady, the modem's POWER, RECIEVE, and PC lights came on.

    When i tested the WIRED connection, I got an error code "52120", and the LAN adapter light and modem's PC light turned off.

    I went to nintendo's support site, and the code told me to unplug the modem, wait, then re-plug it. that didn't help.

    I then entered all my connection info manually in the wii through the nintendo support site's intructions. I took longer to give me an error message, but again i got the same error code.

    what do i do know? Any help would be awesome.

    thank you for your time :)
     
    #1 alec, Feb 8, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2007
  2. Major Tom

    Major Tom Uss Clan *****

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    The Command Cluster
    Wii Friend Code: 5935-0595-2673-3600
    5935-0595-2673-3600
    Do you have a licensed Nintendo ethernet adapter? It may not work without it....
     
  3. alec

    alec WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, but i figured Datel's "Wii lan Adapter" would work fine.
    i guess i'll get my money back. could you direct me to the site where i could buy an official nintendo ethernet adapter plz?
     
  4. Major Tom

    Major Tom Uss Clan *****

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    The Command Cluster
    Wii Friend Code: 5935-0595-2673-3600
    5935-0595-2673-3600
    If it's DATEL It should work. It might be your modem then..... Make sure everything is plugged in right. CHECK EVERYTHING.
     
  5. mym6

    mym6 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    ND USA
    Plug in your modem first, let it get synced/linked up, then hookup and turn on your wii.
     
  6. alec

    alec WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you think that my firewall has anything to do with it? If i disable my firewall on the comp, will that effect my modem to where it allows the wii to connect?
     
  7. spicka

    spicka Beastin By Nature!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    ya it could be your firewall, i have the Datel Wifi max and i had to disable firewall for my psp/wii to link to the internet
     
  8. alec

    alec WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turning off my firewall did nothing...
    WHY WON"T THIS DAMN THING CONNECT??????
     
  9. loubat

    loubat WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    AFter having interference issues with my wireless router, I went to Best Buy and got one of these figuring it would end the headache that connecting my Wii to the internet has become. But alas, it didn't work either. I called Nintendo and they said that only Nintendo's LAN adapter will work with the Wii. Sounds like b.s. to me, but I'm gonna order it and take the Datel back and see how it goes. I'll let you know when it gets
     
  10. mym6

    mym6 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    ND USA
    Well I have to say that you can't just get any USB ethernet adapter you find on the shelf. They each use a specific chipset and unless you just happen to get one that uses the same chipset as the Nintendo brand one you're out of luck.
     
  11. loubat

    loubat WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the one I got said "For Nintendo Wii" on the box. That's why I figured it would work. That's also why I figured Nintendo was just trying to get my money for themself. :frown2:
     
  12. mym6

    mym6 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    ND USA
    I guess if it says for the Wii then call the manufacturer of the product. Does seem strange if it's marketed as for the Wii.
     
  13. krenshaw

    krenshaw old skool

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, your best bet is calling the company who made it for tech support.. its their job, not nintendo, to make sure it works well with your hardware.. just good luck understanding them
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
52120 wii error
,
error 52120 wii
,
error code 52120
,
error code 52120 nintendo wii
,
error code 52120 wii
,
nintendo wii error code 52120
,
wii 52120
,
wii 52120 error code
,
wii error 52120
,

wii error code 52120