Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Is it Possible to Use the Wii as GC w/out Wiimote?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Vanquish23, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Vanquish23

    Vanquish23 Supahstar

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 8617-4848-0755-6983
    8617-4848-0755-6983
    My question is, is it possible to hook up, connect, and turn on the Wii withOUT the sensor bar and Wiimote, and having just a GC game and a GC controller plugged in, to jump straight to the GC menu of the GC game?

    Or is the Wiimote absolutely necessary in order to 'point-and-click' Start on the Wii Menu (which would be quite annoying).

    If anyone knows how to do this, please let me know. Thanks a bunch.
     
  2. a30993

    a30993 WiiChat?!!?! WHERE?!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wii Friend Code: 4108-4051-0390-8129
    4108-4051-0390-8129
    It's necessary.
     
  3. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Ya, I'm pretty sure you need the Wiimote. :sick: I haven't tried it, but someone else on here said you can choose it with the classic controller. If so you would be able to do it without the sensor bar, but you would still need the Wiimote and a classic controller.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. that's actually an interesting question.

    ive left the classic controller in my wiimote and navigated around using that so whos to really say the game cube controler won't do the same

    give it a shot and if it doesn't work then you know what you must buy
     
  5. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Jilly...mods should know this stuff. LMFAO

    the GC is hardware emulation. It's a gamecube shoved in a wii case when you turn on a GC game. It is SO backwards compatible, that you run into this.

    LOL, you really can't just take 5 extra seconds and use the mote?
     

  6. really? honestly i never thought it couldn't work. seemed like an interesting attempt.

    welp looks like you're stuck with wiimotes
     
  7. Rosbaughcr

    Rosbaughcr WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wii Friend Code: 7466-2556-3307-9977
    7466-2556-3307-9977
    Yea, you NEED the wiimote to open the GC emulator
     
  8. CyanRussel

    CyanRussel 2062-8990-6509 GET READY!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    In my SSBB kingdom waiting for a challenge
    Wii Friend Code: 3760-9059-7725-6846
    3760-9059-7725-6846
    Yea, i found that out the hard way 2 days ago, when i left both of my wii-motes at my friends house!

    Turned on wii, and needed a wii-mote to navigate through the wii menu!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

possible to use a wii without wiimote?

,

using wii without wiimote