The Next Gen Console Graphics War

lordcorm

PWNED YOU!!!
Nov 16, 2006
HydePark, Utah
Wii Online Code
1867-6578-5160-4499
Well, just about every gamer today buy there console according to graphics power and how many polygons can be rendered to the screen in a second. Well im here to clear up some mist in the air about the wii's graphics card having low at graphics capabilities, im a C++ programmer that has had experience in 3D game programming by using bolth DirectX and OpenGL.

Let me first start off by saying that the wii's graphics card isnt bad, not bad at all. For my example take a look at some games like Call of Duty 3, Metroid 3, Striker (even though it may not sound like it, that game uses alot of particles which need to be rendered every frame.

Ok, so your thinking "ok shutup and tell me already why my wii's graphics card dosnt suck", well ok, the reason it dosnt suck is because nintendo intended on using the card only for rendering use. Ok right now your probably like, "WTF!!! i thought thats all the graphics card was about, rendering, render, render, render!!! My whole life is a lie now :( !!!". Well its not, the other function the GPU utilizes it 3D Math.

Now getting to some point, lets talk about the GPU and 3D Math. Every time you want to move an object in the game world, you have to use math, every time you rotate an object, you have to use math, every time you scale an object, you have to use math, every freakin time you do something in the game world or in any program YOU HAVE TO USE MATH! Now you ask why i say "You have to use freakin math" every second in this paragraph? Well the reason is that math is a killer on any microprocessor, especially 3D math.